StashAway | Investing, redefined

ESG Investing for a More Sustainable World

Share this

Want more?

We thought you might.

Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.

You might’ve already taken some steps to minimise your carbon footprint: maybe by taking shorter showers, taking public transport instead of driving, opting for train travel instead of flying, or eating less meat. But when it comes to sustainability, did you know that simply moving your pension into a sustainable fund can be 27 times more effective than all those actions combined? (Nordea, 2021).

Corporate sustainability goes beyond just preserving the environment: a sustainable company also treats its employees and customers fairly and has sound decision-making processes across the board.

Companies that take a holistic view across environmental, social, and governance aspects are sustainable because they’re most likely to last. That is, they’re better able to gain trust from the public, satisfy their employees, and improve their overall company health.

With increasing awareness around climate change and gender and racial inequality, investors increasingly want to invest not only in profitable companies but sustainable ones, too.

ESG, the sustainable investing criteria

ESG stands for Environmental, Social, and Governance. It gives investors a framework to assess how sustainable and long-lasting an investment is likely to be. Think of it as a lens to evaluate an investment on top of its financial performance.

Below is a breakdown of ESG criteria and why they matter:

The Environment criteria assess how a company handles its waste, resources, and environmental impact, such as its carbon footprint. An environmentally sustainable company is more likely to gain public confidence. As governments pivot towards more climate-friendly policies, these companies are also more likely to thrive.

The Social criteria assess how a company interacts with its communities. A socially responsible company would treat its employees fairly, source fair labour, and have diversity policies. Organisations impact the livelihoods of whole communities and are more likely to thrive when those who come into contact with them - whether as customers or direct or indirect employees - are satisfied. This has multiple trickle-down benefits that affect a company’s bottom line: from higher employee retention rates to strong community and industry representation.

The Governance criteria assess a company’s framework for decision-making and legal compliance. Strong governance ensures that companies distribute their resources fairly, deal appropriately with bribery or fraud, and avoid conflicts of interest at the board level. Companies with robust governance are more likely to practice fairness and transparency across the organisation and be more stable in the long term.

Some of the issues covered by ESG’s sustainable investing criteria

Some issues covered by ESG criteria

How ESG differs from other sustainable investing strategies

ESG isn’t the only sustainable investing strategy. There’s also Socially Responsible Investing, which goes one step further by actively eliminating investments based entirely on ethical criteria. And its subset, Impact Investing, only considers an investment’s sustainability impact, regardless of its financial performance.

ESG differs from these other sustainable investing strategies as it builds on traditional investment strategies. This means that ESG focuses not only on an asset's financial performance but also how it impacts sustainability.

ESG investing considers financial gains while also focusing on sustainability

Sustainable investing strategies

The challenge behind defining and regulating ESG

As we can see above, ESG offers an entry point for incorporating sustainability and social impact into traditional investing. But just how experts define and regulate ESG will likely evolve over time as experts find ways to measure the criteria more quantitatively.

Environmental and social practices aren’t universally regulated nor quantifiable in financial terms yet. For example, there’s still no universal standard for measuring the harm a company causes its workers or to which extent a company is responsible for its supply chain. These factors make regulating ESG difficult compared to traditional investing, which has established standards on financial reporting.

Despite the lack of transparency on ESG metrics, some institutions have developed ESG scoring to help fund managers build ESG-friendly portfolios. MSCI and Morningstar, for example, designate ESG ratings based on how a company manages its ESG risks compared to other companies within the same industry.

Currently, multiple ESG organisations and the International Financial Reporting Standards are taking steps to standardise ESG criteria. These steps include collaborating on efforts with other institutions to create universal standards.

How ESG drives returns

In the past, many investors thought that factoring ESG criteria into a business model would come at the cost of a company’s returns, and therefore their own investment returns. After all, a company would need to take extra measures to ensure that its operations don’t harm the environment, such as buying carbon credits or investing in renewable energy. Social and governance measures include paying fair salaries, making hiring decisions that reflect a community’s diversity, and implementing robust internal controls. All of these actions require time and resources.

But in fact, sustainable companies are proving to be more likely to generate scalable returns compared to those that don’t prioritise ESG.

Beyond the ethical benefits that ESG offers, ESG is practical because its framework can help investors identify future-proof companies. Investors can use ESG to help them avoid investing in companies that engage in risky or short-signed behaviour, which can cost a company and its shareholders more. (Think of major oil spills or carbon emissions scandals that have rocked company share prices!)

We’ve even run the numbers and found that ESG drives an asset’s returns and provides diversification in a portfolio. ESG performs well among other factors that affect an asset’s returns, such as an asset’s size, volatility, and dividend yield.

Demand for ESG continues to grow

Despite the challenges behind regulating ESG, increasing awareness and strong returns are driving its demand: at the beginning of 2018, $11.6 trillion USD in assets were chosen according to ESG criteria, up from $8.1 trillion USD just 2 years earlier (Ussif.org, 2021). And in Europe, 60% of mutual fund assets will be ESG-related by 2025 (Bloomberg, 2019).

Overall, investors can expect more visibility on ESG metrics in future, and companies will need to adapt to global pressure and local sustainability regulations to thrive. So when evaluating investments for the long term, investors should check how sustainable they are and not just how profitable they are.

How you can invest sustainably

If you're already investing with StashAway, you won't need to change anything to invest sustainably.

We’ve done the legwork by applying two leading ESG scoring models to our portfolios: the MSCI ESG rating, which consists of 7 rating categories, and the Morningstar Sustainability Rating, which consists of 5 rating categories.

Based on an average of the two scoring models, our portfolios have ESG scores ranging from 3.21 to 3.61 out of a score of 5.

We’re also adding 2 new ESG ETFs into our investable universe: iShares ESG Aware MSCI USA ETF and iShares ESG Aware MSCI Emerging Markets ETF. You might not see the ETFs in your portfolio straight away, but they may be included in your next portfolio re-optimisation. And of course, even with the new additions, we’ll always focus on maintaining your portfolio's risk-adjusted returns.

ESG ratings by StashAway portfolio

20210817-StashAway porfolios' ESG scores August 2021

Nordea.com. 2021. Sustainable finance at Nordea. [online] Available at: <https://www.nordea.com/Images/33-282871/Sustainable%20Finance%20at%20Nordea.pdf> [Accessed 17 March 2021].

Ussif.org. 2021. Sustainable investing assets reach $12 trillion as reported by the US SIF Foundation’s biennial Report on US Sustainable, Responsible and Impact Investing Trends. [online] Available at: <https://www.ussif.org/files/US%20SIF%20Trends%20Report%202018%20Release.pdf> [Accessed 19 March 2021].

Bloomberg.com. 2019. Bloomberg - Are you a robot?. [online] Available at: <https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-10-19/almost-60-of-mutual-fund-assets-will-be-esg-by-2025-pwc-says> [Accessed 19 March 2021].

開始 ESG 投資 讓世界可持續發展

08 November 2021

面對嚴峻的碳排放問題,您曾做過哪些減排措施?盡量縮短沐浴時間、減少自行駕駛多乘搭公共交通、出遊選坐火車而非飛機,甚至是減少吃肉?但論及可持續發展的層面時,您又是否知道,您只需簡單「將個人退休金轉投至可持續發展基金,有效性就遠超這些措施加起來的 27 倍!」(節錄自 Sustainable finance at Nordea

現今市場所談論的「企業可持續發展」,所專注的不僅是環境保育,還會公平地對待員工與客戶,並全面製定合理的決策流程。

願意就 「環境、社會及管治」(ESG)上進行全面交流的企業,其營運可持續性通常較高,即是可更有效地獲得公眾信任,自家員工亦多感到滿意,進而改善公司整體經營狀況。

到今日,隨著世界對氣候變化、性別與種族平等議題的關注度日益提升,投資者越來越重視的,不僅是公司盈利,更希望可投資於可持續發展的企業。

ESG 幫您達成可持續性投資

ESG 為 「環境、社會及管治」 (Environmental, Social, and Governance)的簡稱。投資者可透過 ESG 框架來評估一項投資的可持續性與持久性。簡言之,您可將其視為企業財務業績外的投資評估。

通常,涵蓋 3 項準則

1. 環境準則

用於評估企業就處理廢物、資源運用與環境影響(如碳排放)上的措施。通常,可持續性較高的企業更受公眾信任,而隨著政府開始致力推行環境保育政策,這些企業的發展亦較為蓬勃。

2. 社會準則

用於評估企業對社區的貢獻。所謂具有 「社會責任感」 的企業,即能讓員工享有公平待遇、採納平等勞動力、制定涵蓋性別及種族平等的多元化政策。此準則有助確保一間企業的基本涓滴收益,您可將一間企業視為一個團體,其發展前景取決於客戶或員工的滿意程度。如團體發展蓬勃,就可降低員工流失率,並提升其社區及行業的代表性,可見影響甚大。

3. 管治準則

用於評估企業的決策框架及合規性。具有強勁管治準則的企業可確保公司資源公平分配,亦會適當處理賄賂或欺詐,同時會避免董事層的利益衝突。這種穩健的自理模式,可提升企業的營運透明度,長遠發展更穩定。

以下,為 ESG 可持續投資準則所涵蓋的範疇:

ESG-graph

ESG vs 其他可持續投資策略

論可持續投資策略,除 ESG 外,還有「社會責任投資」(Socially Responsible Investing),即投資者按個人社會倫理標準為投資方向,例如,有些投資者認為大麻為有害藥物,便會堅決拒絕買入大麻股。再仔細分項,更有「影響力投資」(Impact Investing),即進一步以環境及社會影響力為出發點來衡量投資項目。

有別於上述可持續投資策略,ESG 則建基於傳統投資策略,除關注企業的財務表現外,更延伸至其可持續性,以及其影響力。

ESG graph 3

ESG 定義與監管背後面臨的挑戰

如前述,ESG 為傳統投資方式加入可持續性及社會影響力。不過,隨著越多量化標準方式出現,專家定義及監管 ESG 的方式亦會隨之而改變。

現時,環境及社會實際方面尚無既定規範,亦不受財務術語量化。例如,若工人於施工期間受傷,現時仍無既定標準衡量企業對傷者造成的傷害程度,或應對其供應鏈的負責任程度。由於欠缺規範,與傳統投資相比(最少於財報上有既定準則),ESG 的監管難度較高。

雖說 ESG 指標透明度低,為解決這方面的限制,部分機構已開始研發 ESG 標準 ,幫助基金經理創建 ESG  投資組合。以 MSCI 及 Morningstar 為例,這些機構會將一間企業的 ESG 風險管理模式跟同行作比較,以釐定其 ESG 評級。

目前,全球多個 ESG 組織及國際財務報告準則正商議規範 ESG 標準的措施,並透過機構間的互相合作創建通用標準。

ESG 推動投資收益 超乎所想

過往,不少投資者認為,如果將 ESG 標準納入商業社會模式,就需犧牲公司回報,等於犧牲其投資收益。

若想成功納入 ESG,企業始終要採取額外措施,即額外支出,以確保其營運模式不會損害環境,例如買入碳信用額或投資可再生能源,而就社會及管治措施上,更包括同工同酬、多元化工作團隊及實施有效的內部管理。以上,全部需要時間驗證及一定的資源。

事實上,將 ESG 列入優先考慮的企業,其可持續性更能讓其營運產生可擴展性回報。

先撇除從 ESG 所得的企業價值外,ESG 本身就是實用性高的投資策略,可幫投資者識別有遠見的前瞻性企業,減少誤投風險性高或短視的企業。想像一下,重大石油洩漏或碳排放醜聞出現時,公司股價重挫的情況,可見 ESG 實際幫助企業及其股東避免付出沉重代價。

我們甚至計算過,發現 ESG 實際推動了資產回報率,同時讓投資組合更多元化,通常,於眾多影響投資回報的因素中,包括資產規模、波動性及股息收益, ESG 的表現通常較好。

ESG 投資成全球趨勢

雖然,ESG 監管現時存有不少限制,但隨市場開始關注 ESG 及所得強勁回報,市場對 ESG 的需求不斷增加。於 2018 年初,就有 $11.6 萬億美元的資產經 ESG 準則挑選下,投資可持續資產較 2 年前僅有 $8.1 萬億美元資產增加不少,而市場預期,於 2025 年,歐洲將有 60% 互惠基金與 ESG 相關。

總而言之,投資者可預期市場未來的 ESG 指標越見更高,企業預期需適應全球壓力及營業地的可持續法規才可蓬勃發展。因此,於評估長線投資時,投資者除審視企業的盈利外,更要留意其可持續性。

您要知道的可持續投資方式

如果您是 StashAway 的現有客戶,您可隨時享受 ESG 投資,只需「 於手機上一 Click ,Chill 住等資產增值」!

我們的投資團隊進行大量研究工作,將 2 個環球領先的 ESG 評分模型應用於 StashAway 的投資者組合中:MSCI ESG 評級(7 個評級類別)及 Morningstar 可持續發展評級(5 個評級類別)。 而根據這 2 種評級模型的平均值,StashAway 投資組合顯示為具較高 ESG 分數的組合。按 5 分為總分計算,所得分數由 3.2 - 3.57 分。

當然,您未必可於現有投資組合中直接看到其 ESG 評級,但我們的團隊會致力確保每個客戶於 ESG 投資中獲益。當然,即使新增 ESG 評級,我們仍以穩定您投資風險為首要任務下,幫您獲得最佳投資表現!

ESG-graph-2

資料來源

  1. Nordea.com. 2021. Sustainable finance at Nordea(撰文瀏覽: 2021 年 3 月 17 日)
  2. Ussif.org. 2021. Sustainable investing assets reach $12 trillion as reported by the US SIF Foundation’s biennial Report on US Sustainable, Responsible and Impact Investing Trends.(撰文瀏覽: 2021 年 3 月 19 日)
  3. Bloomberg.com. 2019. Bloomberg - Are you a robot?(撰文瀏覽: 2021 年 3 月 19 日)

分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!