匯率如何影響你的 StashAway 投資組合

17 January 2024

於 StashAway,我們透過 ETFs 來建立投資組合,並按美元計價。當你將資金存入你的 StashAway 帳戶時,貨幣將從 “港元”(HKD) 轉換為 “美元”(USD),以買入建構投資組合的 ETFs,並會組成各種資產配置。

你可能已注意到,你的 StashAway 賬戶可反映 “港元” 或 “美元” 單位,並根據貨幣顯示不同的投資組合價值。在這篇文章,我們將探討貨幣如何影響你的回報,以及如何透過貨幣兌換來管理投資風險。

匯率如何影響我的投資回報?

當你存入的資金兌換為 “美元” 時,投資組合會面對 “港元” 及 “美元” 之間的價值波動風險。基本上,於其他因素不變下,“美元” 兌 “港元”的任何升/跌,都會對你的投資收益造成正/負面的影響,這種貨幣價值波動所造成的收益或虧損稱為 “貨幣影響”。

於 StashAway App 的投資介面上,當你選擇 “美元” 為貨幣單位時,你的投資收益將計及 “股息” (Dividends)及 “資本收益”(Capital gains);當切換到 “港元” 時,你的投資收益將計及 “股息”、“資本收益” 及 “貨幣影響”。

而 “貨幣影響” 的計算方法則是透過 當前匯率 跟 入金時匯率 的差異計算。下圖反映如何釐定 “港元” 收益的 “貨幣影響”。

假設你於 1 月 1 日存入 10,000 “港元”,並於 2 月 1 日按當時的匯率再存入 15,000 “港元”。 你的投資總額為 3,213 “美元” ,平均匯率為每 1 “美元” 可兌換 7.78 “港元”。

日期存入金額(港元)匯率(美元/港元)投資金額(美元)
1 月 1 日$10,0001: 7.78$1,285
2 月 1 日$15,0001: 7.78$1,928
總計:$25,0001: 7.78$3,213

假設在 3 月 1 日,“港元” 兌 “美元” 貶值,每 1 “美元” 可兌 7.82 “港元”,於投資回報沒有變化下(即無任何股息或資本收益),你的投資組合於 3 月 1 日價值為 3,213 “美元” (相當於 25,122 “港元”),隨著 “美元” 兌 “港元” 走強,你將額外得到 122 “港元”(或 0.49 %) 的收益(包含在 “港元” 收益中)。

我的投資只涉及 “美元” 及美國市場嗎?

雖然 StashAway 投資組合主要由美國上市的 ETFs 組成,但我們的投資範圍遍佈全球市場,資產種類也多元化,涵蓋不同地域及產業,例如中國、亞洲、新興市場及歐洲等地區,並不止是美國市場。

而這些 ETFs 來自全球不同地區及產業,並按各自的市場貨幣計值,所以,你的投資組合可透過這些 ETFs 來接觸多種貨幣,例如,你的投資組合中配置了於美國上市的日本股票 ETF,相當於透過此 ETF 接觸日本企業,而收益將以 “日圓” 計算。因此,你的日本 ETF 中不會有 “美元” 計值的資產。 

為什麼 StashAway 投資以美元計價?

“美元” 與 “日圓” 或 “瑞士法郎” 一樣,都是世界主要融資貨幣之一;正因為如此,“美元” 成為避險資產之一,於全球股市調整或熊市中往往跑贏大多數貨幣。

你可將投資組合中的 “美元” 視為內建保險,於市場調整期間穩定你的投資風險,例如,08 金融危機期間,“港元” 兌 “新加坡元” 升值了 13.5%,降低了當地投資者的投資風險。

我居住在香港,為什麼要投資按美元計價的 ETFs?

部分國家  / 地區性事件(例如政治動盪、自然災害或經濟放緩)或會對該地區的投資活動造成負面影響,分散投資不同地區的資產,則可最大限度地減少受到影響。

此外,每個國家  / 地區都有各自的經濟週期及增長趨勢。如果你的投資僅集中於香港,則有機會錯過從中國及美國等其他經濟體中獲利的機會。

從本質上講,我們精選環球 ETFs 來建構按 “美元” 或其他貨幣計價的投資組合,也是 StashAway 實現多元化投資的方式之一;這種方式能讓你於全球中發掘潛在收益,同時保持穩定的投資風險。


分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

How Currency Impacts Your StashAway Portfolio

17 January 2024

At StashAway, we build our investment portfolios using global ETFs that are denominated in USD. This means that when you deposit funds into your StashAway account, your funds are converted from HKD to USD to purchase the ETFs that make up your portfolio asset allocations.

You may have noticed that your StashAway portfolios can display your returns either in USD, or HKD, and that the returns shown may be different in each currency. In this guide, we’ll explore how currency impacts your returns and how we use currencies to manage your portfolios’ risk exposure.

How does the exchange rate impact my returns?

As your deposited funds are converted to USD, your portfolio is exposed to the fluctuations in the relative value between HKD and USD. Basically, your investments will be positively (or negatively) impacted when the USD rises (or falls) against the HKD, holding all other factors constant. This gain or loss on the value of the USD against the HKD is called currency impact.

On the performance page in your StashAway app, your portfolio return comprises dividends and capital gains when you toggle to USD. On the other hand, when you toggle to HKD, your returns comprises dividends, capital gains, and the currency impact.

The currency impact is measured by the difference between the current exchange rate and the exchange rate at which you invested your funds. The table below shows how currency impact is measured in your HKD returns. 

Assume that you deposited $10,000 HKD on 1 January and another $15,000 HKD on 1 February at the prevailing exchange rates on those dates. The total amount invested in your portfolio is $3,213 USD at an average rate of $7.78 HKD per $1 USD.

Date Amount Deposited (HKD)Exchange Rate (USD/HKD)Amount Invested (USD)
 1 January $10,0001: 7.78$1,285
1 February$15,0001: 7.78$1,928
Total:$25,0001: 7.78$3,213

Let’s assume that on 1 Mar, HKD depreciated against the USD so that $1 USD can buy $7.82 HKD,. If there are no changes to the returns on your investment, meaning there weren’t any dividends or capital gains, your investment of $3,213 USD is worth $25,122 HKD on March 1. In other words, you’ll have a $122 HKD (or 0.49%) gain because your investments in USD appreciated in value as the USD strengthened against HKD. This currency gain is included in the calculation of your return in HKD.

Are my investments exposed only to the USD and the US markets? 

Though our portfolios are mostly made up of US-listed ETFs, our portfolios are globally-diversified. This means your portfolios are invested in asset classes with exposure to various geographical markets, not just the US market. Our ETF selection includes assets in China, Asia, emerging markets, and European markets.

In addition, these global ETFs are made up of companies that operate in their respective region in their respective currencies. As such, your portfolios have indirect exposure to multiple currencies through these ETFs. For instance, if your portfolio has an allocation to the US-listed Japanese equities ETF, you gain exposure to the Japanese companies in the ETF that derive their earnings in Japanese Yen. Hence, you’re taking on zero USD exposure in the Japanese ETF.

Why does StashAway have exposure to USD?

The US Dollar, along with the Japanese Yen and Swiss Franc, is one of the major funding currencies in the world. Because of this, the US dollar becomes a safe haven for investors and tends to outperform most currencies in a global stock market correction, or in a bear market.

The USD exposure in your portfolio acts as a built-in portfolio insurance to manage your risk exposure during a market correction. For instance, during the 2008 financial crisis, the USD appreciated against the SGD by 13.5%. This appreciation contributed valuable risk reduction for local investors.

Why should I invest in USD-denominated ETFs when I live in Hong Kong?

Country-specific events, such as political upheaval, natural disaster, or an economic slowdown can negatively impact your investments in a particular geography. By investing in asset classes in different geographic territories, you minimise the impact of such isolated and country-specific events on your portfolio.

In addition, each country has its own economic cycle and growth trends. If your investments are only concentrated in Hong Kong, you may miss opportunities to gain returns from growth-oriented assets in other economies such as China and the US.

In essence, the combined exposure to the US dollar and other currencies through our global ETF selection is one of the ways in which StashAway diversifies your portfolio. This diversification allows you to capitalise on potential gains globally while keeping your risk level consistent.


Share this
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.