8 招做到富媽媽理財 與子女活得自在

14 March 2022

做父母必然認同「養兒一百歲,長憂九十九」。但盡早做好財務分配的話,除了可為仔女培養穩固的理財習慣,亦可幫自己及伴侶累積長遠的財富。

無論您正備孕、已懷孕或計劃收養小朋友,都要盡早奠定理財基礎,切勿拖延。只有良好的理財計劃,才可讓您成功做好財務控制,進而減輕財務負擔及壓力。

跟著以下 8 個方式,您即可成為理財高手富媽媽,為自己及子女創造美好將來。

第 1 招:如果您有另一半,跟對方用心講金「財」更好

當您擁有自己的子女,往後生活將變得非常「充實精彩」,而跟伴侶坦誠商討財務亦變得非常重要。尤其,您們可能要預備未來的開支變動,例如其中一人將辭去工作,成為「全職主婦/夫」,這樣便要就往後的收入來源達成共識,調整現有儲蓄及投資計劃,兼安排時間讓大家適應變動。您可能會認為夫妻講錢傷感情,但與伴侶定時談一場 「 Money Talk 」,實際上有助大家理財上共同進退,一同實現目標。

第 2 招:備留全面的家庭預算

一份有效而全面的預算,可減輕您的用錢壓力,同時不影響您原定的儲蓄及投資計劃。在收到每月扣除 MPF 的薪金後,可將預期開支按以下 3 種分類:

(A) 需要型 - 即日常飲食、衣著、住屋需要及醫療保健

小朋友出世後,代表您的生活將有筆額外開支:分娩住院費、醫療費、嬰兒必需品(如奶粉、尿片及衣物)、新手媽媽的產後衣物及任何產後開支,您甚至需要負責子女未來 18 年的開支。所以,現在開始逐步計劃您們的未來生活費。

(B) 想要型 - 即奢侈品、娛樂或消遣

俗語話:「辛苦搵嚟志在洗」,我們都想將賺來的辛苦錢用在慰勞自己。如果只是偶爾的家庭式揮霍,而開支又符合家庭價值,能力亦可承擔的話,同樣可納入家庭預算中。例如:買部新車方便接送家人、添置新傢私或電器提升屋企舒適感、計劃家庭 Staycation 創造愉快回憶等等,只要這些開支能讓您安頓好家人,偶爾一次無妨。

(C) 固定型 - 每月儲蓄、投資及償還債務

每月除了做定存及還債外,謹記為您的子女建立教育基金及做投資。

如果您不清楚每項細節需備留多少資金,不妨試試 「 50 : 30 : 20 分法 」,再按個人實際情況調整比例。

記住無論任何時候都要堅守您的預算計劃,避免造成財務混亂,同時別忘記利用政府提供的輔助金來減輕巨額開支。

第 3 招:盡早還清高息債

任何債務都是阻礙您實現理財目標的障礙,無須懷疑。

尤其是卡數利息,一年累積的計息還款額可以非常嚇人,令您的開支越滾越大。為免這些債務加劇您的財務負擔,您必須盡快還清。當然,背後需要您減少無謂開支,例如減少經常給小朋友買新玩具、名牌童裝或任何奢侈品等等。

如果您尚有未還清的高息債,投資計劃亦應先擱置,因為還款額有機會比您的潛在回報更高,所以用盡方法都必須還清。

第 4 招:設立應急基金,以防萬一

所謂「唔怕一萬,最怕萬一」,為家人著想,切記設立家庭應急基金。通常,應急基金一般都會備留 6 - 12 個月的家庭開支費用。

設立應急儲備可加強您的財務狀況,同時可讓您淡定應付任何意外,如突發性醫療開支、屋企緊急維修支出或突然失業等情況。

由於資金備留作緊急用途,所以請將資金存放於低風險但高流動性的賬戶中。

第 5 招:適時審閱保險政策

如果您已為家人買保險,請適時審閱保險政策,確保全家人都有足夠保障。假如屋企有新成員加入,別忘記為新家庭成員買保險,保障其健康。同時,您亦應適時審閱您的人壽保,萬一您有任何意外,都可為家人留一份經濟保障。記著,保額應按個人實際需要釐定,並非保費越高保障越好。通常,定期人壽保的費用都較低,卻比終身人壽保更具成本效益。

第 6 招:為子女建立教育基金

「望子成龍,望女成鳳」必定是每位父母的心願。如果您有意讓子女海外升學,每年所需費用可能高達十幾萬元無論您怎樣安排子女的前程,最重要是意識到費用的問題。請及早跟伴侶商量,提前計劃好並為子女每人建立專屬教育基金。其中一個常見的輔助方法:幫小朋友儲起利是錢作為基金一部分,未來他們必然會明白父母的用心良苦。

第 7 招:幫子女用錢滾錢

許多人選擇將大量現金存放在銀行的儲蓄或定期戶口。不過,即使存款利率優惠再怎麼吸引,銀行依然設有不少存款條件,令您難以幫小朋友增加現金額。

不妨將部分儲蓄用來投資,用來實現 5 - 10 年後的理財目標,例如子女未來的升學費用或他們未來置業的首期等等,投資讓您透過時間及複息力量滾大資金,同時幫您抵抗通脹。

第 8 招:為家人付出也別忘記照顧自己

「上有老下有小」,簡單 6 個字道出辛酸。作為「三文治」世代的夾心層,同時照顧年幼子女及年邁父母是不容易的事。

所以,請照顧好自己的財務狀況,規劃好理財目標,盡早開始部署退休生活,以免將來成為子女的負擔。

當然,如果您有任何個人,或夫妻共同目標,例如買入合適的家庭住宅或想創業,同樣可納入您的理財計劃,別因照顧子女或父母而忽略自己!


瞭解更多理財資訊:


分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

8 Steps to Plan Your Finances for Motherhood

23 February 2022

No matter where you live in the world, the costs of raising a child are significant. But with early planning, you can establish a solid financial foundation for your child while continuing to build wealth for yourself and your partner.

Don’t delay in laying the groundwork as soon as you contemplate motherhood, discover you’re expecting, or plan to adopt a child. Once your finances are in order, you’ll gain better financial control and reduce financial stress.

Here are 8 steps that can help you secure a bright financial future for your little one (without forgetting about yourself!):

1. If you have a partner, have “the money talk” for better financial planning

Your world will radically change with a child, so it’s important to have honest conversations about joint finances with your partner. There are several new expenses to prepare for. And if one of you plans to leave the paid workforce to become a full-time parent, it's important to agree on how to adjust your savings and investment plan under a single income source and how long each of you is comfortable with the new arrangement. Even if the idea of having “the money talk” feels daunting, remember, financial intimacy can ultimately empower both of you to achieve your goals together.

2. Create a budget for the family

budget gives you a big-picture view of how to spend your money without compromising your savings and investments. You can start by assigning certain percentages of your monthly after-tax income into these 3 buckets:

(A) Needs – such as food, clothing, housing and medical care

As a new mother, you’ll need to accommodate additional expenses for yourself and your baby. These include doctor’s visits, delivery and hospital charges, baby necessities like milk, clothing and diapers, new maternity wear for yourself, and any postnatal costs. As your kid is going to be financially dependent on you for the next 18 years or so, you’ll have to progressively plan for his or her future living expenses too.

(B) Wants – such as luxuries, entertainment and recreation

Everybody wants to be able to spend their hard-earned money on their wants. The occasional splurge can be healthy if it’s properly budgeted into your family’s finances and aligned with your values. For instance, a new car can make it more convenient to ferry everyone around. A bigger TV can enhance the family movie night experience. A 5-star hotel staycation can build happy family memories that last a lifetime. Once you’ve taken care of your family’s needs, don’t feel guilty about indulging within your means.

(C) Savings, investments, and debt repayments 

Besides growing your nest egg and taking care of your debts, be sure to save and invest for your child’s future too.

Not sure how much to put aside for each bucket? A popular budgeting method is to apply the 50/30/20 rule respectively to the 3 buckets. You may need to adjust your percentages based on your personal circumstances.

Remember to stick to your budget so your financial plans won’t get derailed. And don’t forget to take advantage of any marriage or parenthood government grants available in your country to alleviate hefty expenses.

3. Pay off high-interest debts fast

Debts are roadblocks that can keep you from reaching your financial goals.

For instance, credit card interest rates are notoriously high and can snowball over time. Given how crushing these debts can become, clear them out of your way as soon as possible. This could mean cutting back on luxuries for a while, even if it’s something for your newborn, like branded babywear or a designer teddy bear.

Investing should also take a backseat until you settle your high-interest debts, as their repayment amounts could be higher than any potential investment returns.

4. Prepare a bigger umbrella for a rainy day

With the extra load of parental responsibility, you’ll need to update your emergency fund amount. We recommend that your fund covers at least 6 to12 months’ worth of expenses for your expanded family.

Having a contingency reserve puts you in a stronger financial position to deal with any curveballs that life may throw at you – such as unforeseen medical needs, out-of-pocket expenses for urgent home repairs, or the sudden loss of any regular income.

You may need to tap into this emergency fund at a moment's notice, so be sure to keep it in a liquid, low-risk account.

5. Review your insurance policies

Review your family’s insurance policies to ensure that all members have adequate coverage. You’ll want to add your newborn to your health insurance coverage and review your life insurance needs to protect your family financially, should something happen to you. You might be able to save on some of your existing insurance premiums too. For example, term life insurance usually has lower premiums and is generally more cost-effective than whole life insurance. Changing to a more appropriate plan could free up a significant chunk of your money for other purposes.

6. Get an education fund up and running

Providing quality education for your child is a top priority for most parents. If you’re planning on sending your child overseas, the bill can run up to several hundreds of thousands of dollars. Wherever you’d like to send your child for university education, it’s important to be conscious of the costs. One way to plan ahead is by discussing this topic with your partner and creating a dedicated fund to invest towards your kid’s education. You could also consider putting a portion of the money from the monetary gifts your child will receive over the years into this fund – he or she will thank you when the time’s right.

7. Make your money work harder for your child

Many people park large amounts of cash in a bank's savings or fixed deposit account. But unfortunately, no matter how "high-yield" their advertised interest rates may appear, they usually come with several conditions. These conditions can make it difficult to grow the cash you're squirrelling away for your child.

Consider investing a portion of your savings for longer-term goals that may be anywhere from 5 to 20 years away, such as paying for your child's tertiary education or helping out with the down payment for his or her first home. Investing lets your money grow with market returns and compound interest, and helps it beat inflation.

8. Fund your ambitions

Parents are often caught in the middle as the “sandwich generation”, responsible for taking care of their ageing parents and young children.

You can avoid burdening your children in the future by taking care of your own long-term financial needs and starting retirement planning early.

At the same time, you shouldn’t neglect other individual or couple goals, such as moving into the right family home, setting up your own business, or funding your passions.


You may also be interested in:


Share this
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.