26. 5. 2023 每週經濟簡報 : 日本股票市場終於熬出頭?

26 May 2023

📈 日本股市受股神巴菲特加持

近期,日本股市捲土重來,而勢頭更是強勁 —— 估值收益具吸引性、增長勢頭強勁及有利的商業環境,使日本股票開始重新吸引投資者目光,而巴菲特本人正是從中獲利的投資者。

早於 2020 年,巴菲特就開始投資日本貿易公司的 5 大企業集團龍頭,統稱為「sōgō shōsha」(総合商社)。這些企業於日本歷史悠久,多數從事食品、紡織品、機械等業務,其中更涉及能源與金屬,持續為當地經濟提供重大貢獻。上月,巴菲特本人透露,他已經增持了這些企業股份,成為他於美國及歐洲以外的最大投資,同時有跡象顯示巴菲特未來或進一步增持。

上述情況非常合理,原因是這些企業符合巴菲特的投資要求,例如同樣都是高質、高盈利的企業,對外的入場門檻高,對內的管理良好,具有可觀派息能力,而其股票價格更具吸引力,至少從上圖可見,跟美股相比這些企業頗具吸引力。

巴菲特並非唯一對日本東證指數贊不絕口的人,連 Man GLG、摩根大通資產管理公司及摩根士丹利等投資者都認為日本東證指數具更多升幅空間,而該指數於本週已升至 1990 年以來的最高水平。最重要的是, 跟美國及其他正應對債務上限的市場相比,日本的市場表現更穩定,可得收益更具吸引力。

這些跟投資者有什麼關係?

如果你決定效仿巴菲特,請於開始前謹記,他與 StashAway 一樣,將投資視為一場長線的馬拉松遊戲,而非隨時完結的短跑活動,這點他就經常強調自己最喜歡的持有期是「永久」,另外,巴菲特本人並無試圖預測明年日本股市的走勢,建議你也不要做這些無法精準預測的事。

不過,如果你有意投資日本的資產類別,StashAway 都可以幫到你:

  1. 我們的風險自選投資 Powered by StashAway目前超配日本股票,反映出該經濟體具相對吸引力。
  2. 如想專注投資日本股票,透過我們的智識砌自主組合即可選擇指定地區進行投資活動。

本文章與 Finimize 聯合撰寫。

🎓 行業術語:估值 

估值即是透過不同的財務數據(如收益)計算股票或證券的公平值,於計劃投資策略上非常重要。

而市盈率(P/E)就是常見的估值指標,將資產價格與其每股收益進行比較。高市盈率即反映資產未來有機會出現高增長預期,不過透投資者同樣需要考慮其基本面,以判斷該資產的估值是否過高;至於,低市盈率則表明資產增長潛力有限,但價值都有可能被低估 —— 換言之,股票價格相對便宜。

📅 過往活動

上週,我們的聯合創辦人兼行政總裁 Michele Ferrario、集團投資總監 Stephanie Leung、以及香港前財政司司長曾俊華於在 StashAway 的獨家活動中與所有參加者分享了在不明朗市場間的理財心得!

自 StashAway 於香港成立以來,我們一直致力透過智能投資技術,為客戶作出正確的財富管理決定,今次活動非常成功,而我們亦計劃未來舉辦更多活動,繼續關注我們的 YouTube Channel 就不會錯過最新消息!


分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

Weekly Buzz: Japan’s walking on sunshine

26 May 2023

📈 Why Buffett is betting big on Japan

Japan’s stocks have been making a comeback – and it’s been fierce. Thanks to alluring valuations, a robust growth spurt, and a conducive business environment, these shares have been shaking off a thick layer of cobwebs. And the oracle of Omaha, Warren Buffett himself, is reaping the benefits.

Way back in 2020, Buffett started investing in the five bigwigs of Japanese trading companies – huge conglomerates known as “sōgō shōsha” – that are the veins pumping life into the economy. They’ve got deep roots in Japan’s history, and provide an array of commodities: food, textiles, machinery, and (most significantly) energy and metals. Last month, Buffett revealed that he had upped his stake in these firms – making it his largest investment outside of the US and Europe – with signs that he might still have appetite for more.

It makes sense because these companies tick all the boxes on Buffett’s investment checklist. They're high-quality, profitable businesses protected by high entry barriers; they're well-managed; they shell out handsome dividends; and their stocks trade at attractive prices. As you can see from the chart above, these companies look pretty appealing relative to US stocks.

Buffet isn’t the only one singing praises for the Land of the Rising Sun – investors like Man GLG, JPMorgan Asset Management and Morgan Stanley are among those who see more upside in Japan’s Topix Index, which reached its highest level since 1990 this week. What’s more, compared to other markets like the US which are grappling with economic headwinds (two words: debt ceiling), Japan’s steadier waters look much more attractive. 

What does this mean for investors? 

Before you decide to blindly copy Buffett, it’s important that you remember that he – and StashAway – sees investing as a marathon, not a sprint. (His preferred holding period, he’s often said, is “forever”.) Buffett isn’t trying to predict the trajectory of Japanese stocks over the next year – and neither should you.

That being said, if you're looking to add exposure to Japan in your portfolio, there are a couple of ways you can go about it. 

  1. Our General Investing portfolios powered by StashAway are currently overweight on Japanese equities, reflecting the economy’s relative attractiveness. 
  2. To add more targeted exposure to Japanese stocks, our Flexible Portfolios allow you to select specific geographies to focus on under Global equities. 

This section was written in collaboration with Finimize.

🎓Jargon buster: Valuation 

Valuation is like playing detective in the financial world. It's all about figuring out the fair value of a stock or security based on financial clues like earnings, and it plays an important role in shaping investment decisions. 

A common valuation metric that investors use is the price-to-earnings (P/E) ratio, which compares an asset’s price to its earnings per share. A high P/E ratio can suggest high expectations for an asset’s future growth – but it could also mean that it’s “overvalued” or too expensive, given its fundamentals. A low P/E ratio, on the other hand, can suggest that an asset has limited growth potential, or that it could be “undervalued” – that is, relatively cheap.

✨ Featured in the App

With high inflation, it’s important you manage your cash well. We’ve got you covered with our new USD Cash Yield portfolio: it invests in ultra-low-risk US treasury bonds with a yield of 5.3% p.a.* Plus, yields are at decade-highs, so it’s a great time to put your cash to work!

Invest now and stand a chance to get ✨ free investing for life ✨by making a new deposit of  $50,000 or more HKD into USD Cash Yield or Flexible Portfolio; and receiving an additional $200 HKD cash coupon if you are a new StashAway customer!

📱 In the app, select Flexible Portfolios > Start with a template portfolio > USD Cash Yield

*The yield is provided by the fund manager and is not a guarantee for future returns and may change depending on market condition. Yield as of 4 May 2023. Trade Promotion Competition Licence No.: 56972. T&Cs apply for the promotion.

📅 Past Events

Last week our co-founder & CEO, Michele Ferrario; our Group CIO, Stephanie Leung; and the former Financial Secretary of Hong Kong, John Tsang, shared their insights in an exclusive event with StashAway's clients and friends. 

Since StashAway launched in Hong Kong, "doing the right thing with your money" has always been our emphasis . The event was a great success, and we have more exciting events planned ahead. - Stay tuned and follow our YouTube channel for the latest news! 


Share this
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.