10. 05. 2024 每週經濟簡報:減息遲遲未到,還是時間未到?

10 May 2024

美聯儲已連續第 6 次維持利率不變,以繼續應付頑固的高通漲。不過,市場依然希望美聯儲減息(始終有助提振經濟表現),不過推遲減息其中沒有想象中般糟糕,以下是 3 個原因:

  1. 美聯儲可能已經結束加息。雖然,目前通脹率能否降至 2% 的目標仍為未知之數,但大部分美聯儲的成員認為政策利率已夠高,並已在計算何時減息及減息幅度。因此投資者應關注 “何時” 減息(及減息幅度),而非“會否”減息。
  2. 今日的通脹相比以往較為溫和。兩年前的通脹普遍嚴重,引發大幅加息,美國勞動力市場供應短缺,導致薪資上漲。時至今日,薪資增長已回到疫情前水平。
  3. 美國經濟持續表現強勁,令美聯儲無懼推遲減息。國際貨幣基金組織(IMF)最近預期,今年美國經濟將增長 2.7%,遠高於其他主要已發展經濟體,而歐洲及日本的經濟增長率則約 0.8% - 0.9%。

投資者應留意的投資啟示

雖然美聯儲尚要一段時間才能決定何時減息,但投資者不必擔心。事實上,雖然通脹依然高企,但經濟表現維持強勁,如美聯儲因而堅持不減息,實際上有利於企業獲利,進而帶動股市。

通脹適當地維持高企,實際有利股市表現。回顧歷史,S&P 500 每年的通脹率維持於 3% - 5%(也是現時通脹率情況),而平均回報率則為 8.5%,這反映經濟表現正在復甦。為回應經濟環境的變化,我們的智能投資框架 ERAA® 已為投資組合進行 “前瞻調倉” ,應付經濟增長環境。

圖 1:即使於通脹溫和期間,股票往往表現良好(資料來源:美國勞工統計局、彭博財經、摩根大通;註:數據截至 2023 年 12 月 21 日。)

📰 市場另一面:亞洲市場表現逐漸反彈

鑒於亞太地區 GDP 數據強勁,加上市場持續預期美國即將減息,亞洲股市表現正大幅上升。

首先,印尼的第一季 GDP 強勁增長 5.1%,表現超出預期,進而提振雅加達證券交易所及盧比表現。至於台灣的經濟表現,於科技需求激增下, 今年第一季 GDP 的增長率便高達 6.5%;與此同時,馬來西亞股市出現兩年來最大規模的外國投資流入,帶動其指數升至 52 週新高。

鑒於亞洲市場的最新升幅,可看到全球投資者的情緒及貨幣政策預期的變化。當美國開始減息之際,隨著現金流增加,投資者或將看到資本流動增加(下文 “金融理財101” 將詳述),從而使亞洲新興市場受益。

本文章與 Finimize 聯合撰寫。

🎓 金融理財 101:資本流動(Capital Flows)

資本流動 — 指資金跨越國際邊界的流動,猶豫金融界中的流水,資金追隨投資者目光,資本於不同國家中流入及流出。

當經濟繁榮時,便會有大量的外國資金進出;相反,於不確定的時期下,資金比會尋找更安全的避風港。透過這些資金流動,便可了解全球市場情緒,甚至充當成 “經濟指標。

✨ StashAway 2024 第一季投資組合表現回報

今年第一季度,隨著地緣政治局勢變得更為緊張,市場的減息預期回落,不過全球經濟仍繼續展現韌性。

立即瀏覽 StashAway 投資組合於 2024 年第一季的表現


分享此文章

  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!

即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

Weekly Buzz: No rate cuts, no worries

10 May 2024

The US Federal Reserve (the Fed) has now left rates unchanged for the sixth meeting in a row, as it continues to grapple with stubbornly high inflation. While some in the market were hoping for early interest rate cuts – which could mean a boost to the economy – leaving rates alone isn’t that bad. Here are three reasons why:

  1. The Fed’s likely done with rate hikes. Despite some ongoing uncertainty about how to lower inflation to its 2% target, most Fed members now think policy rates are high enough, and are instead calculating when to lower rates and by how much. So, the real question isn’t “if”, but “when” we’ll see cuts – and how steep they might be.
  2. Inflation is much tamer today. Two years ago, inflation was rampant and widespread – prompting the aggressive run of rate hikes. What’s more, there was a mismatch in the US labour market then, which pushed wages up. Now, wage gains are back in line with pre-pandemic trends.
  3. The US economy remains strong. The Fed knows it’s got the luxury of delaying rate cuts. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) recently forecasted that the US economy will grow by 2.7% this year, much greater than the pace expected in other major developed economies, which hover around 0.8% across Europe and 0.9% in Japan.

What’s the takeaway here?

You don’t have to sweat it if the Fed’s taking a while to decide on rate cuts. Inflation is still proving sticky; but if the Fed’s holding its ground in the belief that its economy is doing well, that’s actually a good thing for corporate earnings and, in turn, for the stock market.

In fact, an environment with slightly elevated inflation still works for stocks. Historically, annual inflation rates between 3% and 5% (which is where we’re at now) have been followed by an average return of 8.5% in the S&P 500. Moreover, inflation’s only one part of the bigger picture; growth’s now coming back, and our investment framework, ERAA®, has reoptimised for it.

📰 In Other News: Asian markets are roaring

Asian equity markets are experiencing a significant uptick, driven by a mix of strong regional GDP figures and continued anticipation for US interest rate cuts.

In Indonesia, strong first-quarter GDP growth of 5.1% has beat expectations, lifting both the Jakarta stock exchange and the rupiah. Similarly, Taiwan’s economy posted a blistering 6.5% GDP growth rate in the first quarter of 2024, coming off the back of a surge in tech demand. Meanwhile, Malaysia's equity market saw its biggest influx of foreign investment in two years, boosting its key index to a 52-week high.

The latest surge in Asian markets reflects shifts in global investor sentiment and monetary policy projections. When the US eventually starts cutting back on interest rates, we’ll likely see an increase in capital flows as cash is freed up (see our Simply Finance below), benefiting Asian emerging markets.

These articles were written in collaboration with Finimize.

🎓 Simply Finance: Capital flows

Capital flows refer to the movement of money across international borders. It's the financial world's version of the tides – capital sloshes in and out of countries as investors seek the most attractive returns.

When an economy is thriving, you can expect a flood of foreign cash. Conversely, during times of uncertainty, that money often beats a hasty retreat in search of safer harbours. These ebbs and flows provide insights into global investor sentiment and can act as an economic barometer of sorts.

✨ StashAway’s Q1 2024 Returns are out!

The first quarter of the year saw expectations of early interest rate cuts pushed back, alongside rising geopolitical tensions. Despite all this, the global economy continued to prove its resilience.

Here’s how your portfolios performed in Q1 2024.


Share this

  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.

Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.