StashAway 2022 上旬業績概覽

26 July 2022

立即查看各個投資組合於年初至今的變現。

2022 年走過一半,惟市場表現遜色,全球股票與債券更同時出現雙位跌幅,情況非常罕見。同期,MSCI 全球股票指數與 FTSE 全球政府債券指數分別下跌 20.3% 及 14.8%(按美元計值,適用於下述所有投資組合的業績數字)。

1H22-Slumping-markets

這場席捲全球的「市場風暴」之所以出現,離不開若干全球性因素。今年 2 月下旬俄烏戰爭爆發,對全球大宗商品市場造成巨大衝擊,供應鏈斷裂刺激通脹加劇,實質經濟增長放緩。

延伸閱讀:【投資必讀】專業投資者都知道的通脹基本面

同時,疫情持續未退,打亂全球供應鏈常規模式,使食品與能源成本上漲,將美國與歐洲的通脹推至 10 年來高位,最終迫使美聯儲等全球央行大幅加息,不惜犧牲經濟增長,更令不少資產類別受市場不確定性波及。

這場「市場風暴」無疑對大部分投資者造成重大影響,讓我們為此呈獻截至 2022 年 6 月,我們的「風險自選投資」、「未來投資組合」及「社會責任投資」(ESG 投資)於年初至今的表現。


關鍵要點: 

  • 就「風險自選投資」上,由於投資組合涵蓋了抗通脹債券、黃金及能源概念股,因此不同風險水平的投資組合表現都優於其相同風險基準。
  • 就「社會責任投資」上,由於投資組合涵蓋了抗通脹債券及浮動利率債券,因此整體表現亦優於其相同風險基準。
  • 就「未來投資組合」上,由於科技板塊曾出現大幅拋售,使整體表現未如理想,惟上半年環球潔淨能源股出現正回報,因此「綠色科技組合」的總跌幅相對較小。
  • 展望未來,美聯儲將會大幅加息,美國則或會陷入經濟衰退,即市場將或會繼續出現波動。
  • 為應對市況,除維持創建多元投資組合外,請確保組合的資產配置與你的風險承受能力相符。

我們的「風險自選投資」跑贏同儕,表現一如理想

今年上半年,「風險自選投資」的回報率介乎 -9.5% 至 -18% 之間,不同 StashAway 風險指數的投資組合均跑贏其相同風險基準。 整體而言,「風險自選投資」的組合平均跑贏各自的相同風險基準 4.7%。

即使市場負面消息不斷,投資組合表現依然為正回報,而我們於市場低迷時期堅持為按計劃投資,故成功握緊市場反彈的最佳機會。

1H22-GI

我們的「風險自選投資」之所以跑贏同儕,全賴 StashAway 的智能投資系統 ERAA® (經濟環境導向的資產配置)成功偵測出經濟環境變化,為所有「風險自選投資」組合完成「前瞻調倉」,以應對年初開始的通脹及利率上升時期。

延伸閱讀:StashAway「前瞻調倉」:抵禦高通脹環境 估值變動創投資機會

跑贏同儕關鍵之(一):增持抗通脹債券與黃金

我們為「風險自選投資」所有投資組合增持了抗通脹債券及浮動利率債券,故成功抵消固定收益市場的若干暴跌表現,而組合中的黃金配置,不但可與通脹進行對沖,還可在市調期間發揮避險作用,至於黃金的價格在此期間僅下跌約 1.5%,表現更比股票及債券優勝。

跑贏同儕關鍵之(二):增持美國能源、加拿大與澳洲市場股票

就股票方面,我們增持美國能源股的配置份額,促使投資組合的表現優於相同風險基準,相較 S&P500 指數下跌 20%,相關板塊於上半年卻出現漲幅達 31.4%。加拿大與澳洲市場股票配置因受惠於大宗商品價格上漲的經濟體,成功維持組合表現,該等市場全球表現僅下跌約 11.7%,同期 MSCI 環球股票指數跌幅則高達 20.3%。

惟此期間,由於中國科技行業受到監管、地緣政治風險及疫情政策所影響,相關板塊受到嚴厲打擊,我們的「風險自選投資」表現被中國科技股有所拖累。

唯一表現痛點分析:固定收益市場疲軟,致使低風險組合承壓

我們的「風險自選投資」提供不同的 StashAway 風險指數(SRI)予客戶選擇,即於 1 年間,組合的累計跌幅有 99% 機會維持在你所選擇的 SRI 百分比內。但如本節開首的圖表所示,全球性通脹上升造成固定收益市場出現數 10 年來的最大跌幅,這導致 SRI 6.5% 與 SRI 8% 的低風險組合(皆配置較多債券份額)罕有地突破了其 SRI 水平。

而我們預期此跌幅不會持續,原因是美聯儲已開始其抗通脹計劃:由於其貨幣緊縮政策增加了美國衰退風險,預期將逼使美聯儲降息以維持經濟增長,此情況下的債券實際表現往往較良好,而債券市場(尤其是長期債券)亦正顯示出企穩跡象。

我們的「社會責任投資」固定收益表現佳,成功超越相同風險基準

我們的「社會責任投資」組合於今年初投入服務。與「風險自選投資」的特色大同小異,同樣提供多元資產配置及靈活的風險管理,並採用相同的風險基準,惟「社會責任投資」則專注於具較高 ESG(環境、社會及管治)評分的企業證券。整體而言,「社會責任投資」的組合平均跑贏各自的相同風險基準 2.6%。

1H22-ESG

「社會責任投資」的組合同樣配置了抗通脹債券及浮動利率債券,以抵禦全球債券市場的調整,其中短期政府債券更為低風險的「社會責任投資」組合提供額外支撐點,以維持整體表現。

惟組合中的未來交通板塊配置(平均約 11%)成為上半年業績的最大拖累:與其他增長型股票一樣,加息對 Tesla 與 Uber 等自動駕駛汽車股造成嚴重打擊。同時,國際政府債券的配置(平均約 12%)也是另一下行壓力來源。

我們的「未來投資組合」表現受制於科技及增長型股票的廣泛拋售

我們的「未來投資組合」屬主題性投資,所提供的組合有:「科投組合」、「消費科技組合」、「科醫療科技組合」與「綠色科技組合」,分別於 2021 年底及 2022 年初投入服務,為客戶提供投資爆發性增長趨勢的機會。有別於「風險自選投資」與「社會責任投資」,「未來投資組合」的配置以集中相關板塊為核心,故無法與全球性的基準進行比較。

在過去幾個月,由於加息關係,導致不少科技股及增長型股出現重大的估值重置,進而影響了「未來投資組合」的整體表現。

1H22-NASDAQ

以科技股為主的納斯達克指數作為參考基準,其市盈率(P/E)從年初的 31 倍調整至 6 月底的 21 倍,降幅高達 10%,而上次出現相同情況需追溯至科網爆破時期。

好消息是,現時科技股及增長型股的估值已經恢復至 20 年間的平均水平,尤其在市場持續性創新及大規模採用骨幹性技術的推動下,科技板塊預期會繼續實現長線盈利增長,如歷史數據表明,估值重置通常為長線的增長趨勢提供絕佳機會。

1H22-TI

科投組合

鑒於互聯網基礎設施、雲端計算及人工智能的概念股大幅下跌,我們的「科投組合」於今年上半年的表現平均下跌 29.5%,值得表揚的是,組合中的黃金及債券等用於平衡組合的資產發揮下行保護作用,成功使此組合避開更大的跌幅。

消費科技組合

我們的「消費科技組合」同期亦平均下跌了 30.7%,原因是此投資組合廣泛涵蓋科技板塊,惟當中用於平衡組合的資產同樣發揮了下行保護作用。

醫療科技組合

我們的「醫療科技組合」則平均下跌了 25.1%,原因是基因學與醫療保健技術板塊的表現大幅縮水所致。

綠色科技組合

我們的「綠色科技組合」與今年初正式投入服務,迄今為止與其他主題相比之下跌幅較小,平均為 -10.6%。在此期間,全球潔淨能源股是為數不多,具正回報的板塊之一,也是維持此組合表現得主要板塊,至於環境服務與其他綠色行業的跌幅同樣較小。另外,由於低風險的「綠色科技組合」涵蓋較高固定收益(包括綠色債券)配置,故表現會偏弱。

2022 年第三季度之預期分析

面對今年上旬的洶湧的市場波動,以下是 StashAway 投資團隊就下一季度分析。

根據 StashAway 智能投資系統 ERAA® 的最新訊號表明,全球經濟(尤其美國)都進入了滯脹環境 —— 偏近高通脹與低增長情況,惟緊隨美聯儲等央行繼續透過大幅加息以控制通脹,可預見來年經濟衰退的風險會出現顯著上升。就美國經濟而言,經濟學家預期未來 12 個月出現衰退的概率為 33%。

儘管全球經濟或會進入滯脹時期,惟過渡至衰退前的時間可能相對較短。參考 2008 年的經濟數據,美國經濟面臨短期的高通脹(供需失衡至油價高企)及經濟停滯(次貸危機拖累增長),最終,危機引發的市場需求暴跌,迅速冷卻了價格壓力,並使經濟陷入衰退。

1H22-2008-economic-regime

至於未來幾個月,預期全球央行會繼續致力控制通脹,導致市場需求放緩,而 5 至 10 年的市場通脹預期實際已開始放緩。此外,歐洲對俄羅斯石油及天然氣的實施全面進口禁令,對全球能源價格造成重大影響,而禁令的影響已於資產價格中反映。

預期市場波動將持續存在

鑒於美聯儲就加息上的激進態度,加上美國經濟可能陷入衰退,我們預期市場於未來幾個月或會繼續波動,而央行及政策制定者為引導經濟以渡過此「市場風暴」,各經濟體也可能迅速出現轉變。

鑒於此期間的市場波動較大,投資者不妨把握機會重新評估風險水平,為應對市況,除維持創建多元投資組合外,請確保組合的資產配置與你的風險承受能力相符。

我們的智能投資組合 ERAA® 會密切監測經濟環境變化,持續優化所有投資組合,將投資風險水平降至最低的同時實現最大的長線回報。同時,我們的投資團隊將繼續監測市場及經濟數據,如不想錯過最新的市場消息,請繼續訂閱我們的「CIO 投資思維」及「StashAway 市場寰評」。


免責聲明:

上述的相同風險基準由 MSCI 全球股票指數與 FTSE 全球政府債券指數所組成, 與我們的投資組合具相同 10 年實際波動率。

圖中所示回報基於投資組合模型,所示淨額未扣除交易費、預扣稅及未計入股息,僅作為計量其他項目前之純回報指標用途。

鑒於交易時間(如日交易時段及收市時間)、時區差異、調倉過程的日內波動、交易費、股息稅及股息回收等差異,實際所得回報可能會偏離投資組合模型。上述所示全部金額數字按美元計值。

過往表現並不保證未來回報, 故投資者於投資前,應仔細考慮投資目標、風險、費用及支出,如有需要,應尋求獨立專業意見。

本通訊不是也不構成購買任何金融產品或訂閱或進入任何交易的任何要約、推薦、邀請或招攬。

此通訊並未計量閣下之個人情況,如投資目標、財務狀況或特殊需要,故不構成財務建議。 閣下應該諮詢您的獨立財務、會計、稅務、法律或其他職函的專業顧問。


分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

Our Returns in the First Half of 2022

15 July 2022

Find out how your portfolios have performed in the year-to-date. 

Markets have had a rough first half of the year. Both global equities and bonds have seen double-digit drawdowns – a rare occurrence – with the MSCI World Equity Index slumping 20.3% in USD terms over the period and the FTSE World Government Bond Index declining 14.8%.

1H22 returns chart 1

Several unique factors created the perfect storm for markets this year. Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in late February created huge supply disruptions in global commodity markets – lifting inflation and slowing growth.

With supply chains already disrupted by COVID-19, rising food and energy costs pushed inflation to decade-highs in the US and Europe. That’s forced global central banks, like the US Federal Reserve, to hike interest rates aggressively – even at the expense of growth. The resulting uncertainty rippled across asset classes.

Against this backdrop, we share details on how our General Investing, Responsible Investing, and Thematic portfolios have performed in the year to end June 2022.


Key takeaways: 

  • Our General Investing portfolios outperformed their respective benchmarks across all portfolio risk levels, thanks to their exposure to inflation-protected bonds, Gold, and energy-related equities.
  • Our Responsible Investing portfolios also outperformed their respective benchmarks because of their exposure to inflation-protected and floating-rate bonds.
  • The broad tech sector selloff weighed on our Thematic portfolios. The Environment and Cleantech portfolio saw comparatively smaller declines as global clean energy stocks saw positive returns in the first half.
  • Looking ahead, aggressive rate hikes from the Fed and the potential for the US to fall into recession mean markets will likely remain volatile.
  • In addition to maintaining a diversified portfolio, ensuring your asset allocation matches your risk tolerance is one way to help you stomach the market’s ups and downs.

Our General Investing portfolios outperformed their respective benchmarks across all risk levels 

During the first half of the year, our General Investing (GI) portfolios returned between -9.5% and -18% in USD terms , beating their respective benchmarks across all portfolio risk levels. On average, our GI portfolios outperformed their respective benchmarks by 4.7 percentage points in USD terms.

We understand that it can be difficult to see negative returns in a positive light. But remaining invested during a market downturn gives you the best chance of capturing the eventual rebound.

How have our portfolios managed to outperform their respective benchmarks? Our investment framework, Economic Regime Asset Allocation (ERAA®), optimised our portfolios for a period of higher inflation and rising interest rates at the start of the year.

Our exposure to inflation-protected bonds and Gold contributed to our relative outperformance

Our portfolios’ increased exposure to inflation-protected and floating-rate bonds helped to offset the rout in other parts of the fixed income market. Our allocation to Gold served not only as a hedge against inflation, but also as a safe-haven asset during the market sell-off. Gold prices were only down about 1.5% during the period, outperforming both equities and bonds.

Our equity allocations to US energy, Canada, and Australia helped performance, while Chinese technology detracted  

On the equity side, our allocation to US energy stocks helped our portfolios outperform the benchmark: the sector posted a 31.4% gain during the first half versus the 20% decline in the broader S&P 500 index. Our exposure to equities in Canada and Australia (economies that benefit from higher commodity prices) also helped performance – these markets saw declines of about 11.7% versus the 20.3% slump in the broader MSCI World Equity Index.

Conversely, Chinese technology stocks dragged on our portfolio returns, due to a regulatory crackdown on the country’s tech industry, geopolitical risk, and COVID policies.

Weakness in fixed income markets weighed on our lower-risk portfolios 

For any given General Investing portfolio, there’s a 99% chance that you won’t lose more than your selected StashAway Risk Index (SRI) percentage in a given year. But rising inflation caused the biggest declines in fixed income markets in decades, as you can see in the chart at the top of this article. This contributed to our lowest-risk SRI 6.5% portfolio – which has higher exposure to bonds – breaching its SRI level.

We don’t expect this decline to persist, especially given the Fed’s determination to rein in inflation. Its rapid pivot toward monetary tightening has increased the risk of a US recession, where bonds actually tend to do well. Indeed, bond markets are showing signs of stabilisation – especially in longer-dated bonds –  as investors expect the Fed will eventually have to cut interest rates to support growth.

Our Responsible Investing portfolios’ fixed income allocations helped them outperform their benchmarks

Our Responsible Investing (RI) portfolios, which we launched at the start of this year, focus on ESG. Like our General Investing portfolios, our RI portfolios provide the same diversification and risk management, and employ the same same-risk benchmarks. On average, the RI portfolios outperformed their respective benchmarks by 2.6 percentage points in USD terms.

Similar to our GI portfolios, our RI portfolios’ allocation to inflation-protected and floating-rate bonds was a source of resilience to the broader bond-market selloff. Exposure to short-term Treasury bonds provided additional support for our lower-risk RI portfolios.

The RI portfolios’ allocation to the future mobility sector (about 11% on average) was the largest drag on performance during the first half. As with other growth stocks, rising interest rates hit equities in the electric and autonomous vehicle industries, like Tesla and Uber, particularly hard. Exposure to international government bonds (about 12% on average) was another source of downward pressure.

The broad selloff in tech and growth stocks weighed on our Thematic portfolios  

Our Thematic Portfolios, launched in late 2021 and early 2022, provide investors with access to specific long-term trends that have a high potential to shape our future. Unlike our GI and RI portfolios, Thematic portfolios are designed to provide concentrated sector exposures, so they’re not comparable against broad global benchmarks.

Many thematic portfolios were affected by the violent valuation reset in technology and high growth stocks over the past few months, caused by the rising interest rate environment.

1H22 returns - Nasdaq valuations

For reference, the forward price-to-earnings (P/E) ratio of the tech-heavy Nasdaq Composite Index corrected from 31x at the beginning of the year to 21x by the end of June - a whopping 10 percentage point decrease that we last saw during the dotcom bubble.

The good news is that valuations have now reset to their 20-year average levels. And, the tech sector should continue to see long-term earnings growth driven by continuous innovation and mass adoption of key technologies. As history has repeatedly shown, these valuation resets provide excellent opportunities to invest in long-term growth trends.

Technology Enablers 

Our Technology Enablers portfolios posted an average decline of 29.5% in USD terms during the first half of the year, due to significant drops in internet infrastructure, cloud computing and AI-related stocks. But our allocations to “balancing assets” like gold and bonds provided downside protection, and helped to avert steeper drawdowns across our Thematic Portfolios.

Future of Consumer Tech 

Our Future of Consumer Tech portfolios were down 30.7% on average in USD terms during the period. Similar dynamics were at play, given the portfolio’s broad exposure to the technology sector.

Healthcare Innovation

Our Healthcare Innovation portfolios declined by 25.1% on average in USD terms. Here, large drawdowns in the genomics and healthcare technology sectors weighed on returns.

Environment and Cleantech

Our Environment and Cleantech portfolios faced much smaller declines compared with the other themes so far this year, or -10.6% on average in USD terms. Global clean energy stocks – one of the few sectors posting positive returns during the period – were the main driver, as well as smaller drawdowns in environmental services and other green industries. Our lower-risk portfolios posted weaker performance due to their higher allocations to fixed income, including green bo

Here's what we’re watching in the third quarter of 2022

We’ve navigated through the rough waters of the first half of 2022. But what lies ahead for the coming quarter?

The latest signals from our investment framework, ERAA®, suggest both the global and US economies are edging closer to a stagflationary economic regime – marked by high inflation and low growth. But as central banks like the Fed continue to aggressively hike interest rates to rein in inflation, the risk of a recession in the coming year has risen significantly. For the US, economists forecast a 33% probability over the next 12 months.

Even though we may enter a period of stagflation, it could be relatively short before transitioning into a recession. In 2008, for example, the US faced a short period of both high inflation (as supply-demand imbalances boosted oil prices) and economic stagnation (as the sub-prime mortgage crisis dragged on growth). But ultimately, the crisis-induced collapse in demand quickly cooled price pressures and moved the economy into recession.

1H2022 returns - economic regimes

In the next few months, we may see similar dynamics play out, with global central banks’ efforts to tame inflation causing demand to slow (in fact, inflation expectations in the 5 to 10 year horizon have already started easing). In addition, while Europe’s full import ban on Russia oil and gas is significant for global energy prices, this import ban is already likely reflected in asset prices.

Market volatility is here to stay

Aggressive rate hikes from the Fed and the potential for the US to fall into recession mean markets will likely remain volatile in the months ahead. Economic regimes may also shift quickly as central banks and policy makers try to steer their economies through the storm.

This period of higher market volatility can provide an opportunity to re-assess your risk profile. In addition to maintaining a diversified portfolio, ensuring your asset allocation matches your risk tolerance is one way to help you stomach the market’s ups and downs.

But rest assured that as we move through the economic regimes, ERAA® will continue to optimise your portfolios to minimise your downside risk and maximise your longer-term returns. Meanwhile, our investment team will continue to monitor market and economic data, and we’ll keep you updated on the latest developments through our CIO Insights newsletters and market commentaries.


Disclaimer:

Our same-risk benchmarks are proxied by MSCI World Equity Index (for equities) and FTSE World Government Bond Index (for bonds). The benchmarks we use have the same 10-years realised volatility as our portfolios.

Model portfolio returns are expressed in gross terms before fees, withholding taxes, and reclaims on dividends. They are provided only as a gauge of pure performance before other items.

Actual account returns may deviate from the model portfolios due to differences in the timing of trade execution (e.g. during the day vs close), timing differences and intraday volatility of reoptimisation and re-balancing, fees, dividend taxes and reclaims, etc. All returns are in USD terms.

Past performance is not a guarantee for future returns. Before investing, investors should carefully consider investment objectives, risks, charges and expenses, and if need be, seek independent professional advice.

This communication is not and does not constitute or form part of any offer, recommendation, invitation or solicitation to purchase any financial product or subscribe or enter any transaction.

This communication does not take into account your personal circumstances, e.g. investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs, and shall not constitute financial advice. You should consult your own independent financial, accounting, tax, legal or other competent professional advisors.


Share this
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.