金融體系3月變天 押注美聯儲下步部署

31 March 2023

拆解金融體系動盪對美聯儲的利率路徑有何影響,投資者又應該如何看待並提前部署。

這個 3 月對美聯儲而言可謂艱難,先是矽谷銀行(Silicon Valley Bank;SVB)倒閉,隨後金融體系動盪,一切使市場預期從加息轉向減息。

回顧這個月的事態發展,究竟會對全球最大經濟體、美聯儲加息行動及未來市況造成什麼影響?

3月份事態發展的成因是什麼?

本月初,高通脹依然比預期頑固,另一方面經濟增長亦超過預期,這讓市場意識到美聯儲需再上調終端利率預期(美聯儲加息週期的峰值利率)。

不過,才剛進入第 1 週就出現 SVB 倒閉事件,引發大眾對銀行體系穩定性的嚴重憂慮,可市場預期接下來出現巨大變化,期貨市場釐定美聯儲於 3 月 21 日至 22 日的會議上暫停加息,並從年中左右開始減息。

美聯儲為此迅速啟動緊急貸款計劃,先穩定銀行業的流動性及大眾對金融體系的信心,再於近期議息會議公佈繼續加息 25 個基點,清楚表明抗通脹依然是其首要任務。

利率軌跡:美聯儲與市場的預期落差

於 3 月的會議上,美聯儲釋出 2 個有關利率軌跡的重要訊號:

  • 首先,預期終端利率將維持於 5.1%,而目前的聯邦基金利率維持於 4.75% 至 5% 之間,表示美聯儲將會再度加息 1 次。另外,銀行界持續動盪令經濟體收緊可用資金,經濟因此放緩 。部分經濟分析師預計,資金收緊狀況相當於美聯儲加息 25 至 50 個基點。
  • 其次,通脹率仍遠高於美聯儲 2% 目標。主席鮑威爾便在近期的會議上推翻減息的可能性,並重申 — 如有需要,未來會繼續加息,幅度甚至可能超過預期。

當然,市場對此並不買賬,而部分市場指標更表明未來幾個月美聯儲將會減息,從市場角度而言:

  • 聯邦基金期貨釐定美聯儲將於 6 月開始減息,到 12 月時的隱含利率約為 4.1% 。
  • 截至 3 月底,10 年期美國國債的年化收益率已從月初逾 4% 跌至約 3.5%,反映經濟增長放緩及通脹放緩的訊號。
  • 「近期遠期殖利率利差」(Near-Term Forward Spread)表明美國國債的「最近 3 個月」與 「18 個月預期」的收益率差距下跌超過 100 個基點,而這項指標備受鮑威爾密切關注

促使美聯儲減息的因素是什麼?

美聯儲在近期議息會議上表明,央行仍將控制通脹視為重中之重,而現時的通脹率仍遠高於美聯儲目標的 2 倍多。

那麼,市場對於美聯儲減息的預期是否言之尚早?怎樣才會使美聯儲落實減息?

因素(一):若經濟迅速衰退,美聯儲便可能減息

如經濟增長在未來幾個月出現大幅下滑,便有機會驅使美聯儲減息,而導致這情況出現的方式之一就是銀行體系動盪以致貸款準則收緊,使企業或個人更難獲取貸款,進一步拖累經濟增長。

事實上,於過去幾個季度,銀行已持續收緊貸款準則,令借貸變得越趨困難。根據美聯儲今年初就高級貸款官員的調查顯示,約 45% 受訪銀行收緊了各種規模的企業貸款標準,這趨勢跟歷史上的經濟衰退前期訊號一致,至於個人貸款更是難上加難。

這樣看來全球經濟是有可能陷入衰退。雖然美聯儲預期今年經濟會出現 0.4% 的溫和增長,但仍少於去年 12 月預期的 0.5%。鑒於今年初的第 1 季度增長相當強勁,這意味未來幾個季度(可能於下半年)將出現相對迅速的放緩情況。

而部分市場指標更表明未來出現經濟衰退的可能性正在增加,例如紐約聯邦儲備銀行的指標便預期未來 12 個月出現經濟衰退的可能性為 55%,彭博調查則顯示同期發生衰退的可能性為 65%。

當然亦有意見表明經濟衰退未必已成定局,例如高盛認為勞動力市場復甦的可能性為 35%

隨著經濟放緩,通脹自然隨之下降 — 這也是美聯儲的目標。但除非再次出現重大市場衝擊,否則未來幾個月內不太可能出現通脹急劇下降的情況,所以美聯儲短期內不可能減息,否則會出現其他更嚴重的經濟問題。

因素(二):如果金融體系動盪升級加劇危機,美聯儲也可能減息

雖然,美聯儲與美國政府已為銀行業界提供援助資金,但危機尚未過去,而美聯儲自去年 3 月至今,持續加息 450 個基點依然影響全球經濟體。我們無法預測最壞的情況可以多壞,但任何金融體系上危機跡象都可能會導致美聯儲落實減息決定。

如美聯儲減息,將對各資產類別造成什麼影響?

縱觀所有因素,預期美聯儲減息仍言之過早,而過去 1 個月更清楚表明未來市況仍有機會出現巨大變化。

為應對未知之數提前做好部署,就是回顧歷史表現,了解各種資產類別對過往減息時的反應.

回顧自 1970 年起 21 個美聯儲在放寬週期時的分析表明:在第 1 次減息後(或約 1 個月後),所有主要資產類別的回報率中值在歷史上一直持平至略微為負。

202303-CIO-Insights-Graph-3

但如上圖所示,各個資產類別的表現會隨時間反彈,一般先由債券引領復甦,股票緊隨其後,由此可反映投資的關鍵在於著眼大局,按計劃做長線投資,維持投資組合的多元性以應對市場起伏。

延伸閱讀:美聯儲多面施技權衡 將如何影響經濟環境

想在波動市場中尋找投資機遇? StashAway 風險自選投資組合已針對目前的經濟環境加入防禦性資產,並於去年 12月完成前瞻調倉 — 增持短期美國國債的份額,同時維持黃金配置,將避險資產的作用發揮極致。

延伸閱讀:StashAway「前瞻調倉」:適應高通脹變化 握經濟增長創投資機會

StashAway 智識砌自主組合亦可能助你有系統地專注投資防禦性板塊 — 尤其是剩餘期限 1-3 個月的美國短期國債,助你把握高息契機,保本之餘又能抵禦通脹。


分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

After March’s market madness, what’s next for the Fed?

31 March 2023

Find out how turmoil in the banking sector has affected the Fed’s interest rate path, and what it all means for investors. 

March wasn’t an easy month for the US Federal Reserve. With the collapse of Silicon Valley Bank (SVB) and subsequent turmoil in the banking sector, market expectations swung from rate hikes to rate cuts.

What do the past month’s developments mean for the world’s biggest economy, the Fed’s rate path, and markets going forward? Let’s dive in.

First off, how did we get to this point? 

At the start of the month, stickier-than-expected inflation and a stronger-than-expected economy contributed to expectations that the Fed would need to re-accelerate its pace of rate increases and shift up its terminal rate. (That’s the peak interest rate of its hiking cycle.)

But just a week and a half into March came SVB’s collapse, which created serious concerns about the stability of the broader banking system. Market expectations shifted dramatically, with futures markets pricing in a rate pause at the Fed’s 21-22 March meeting and rate cuts beginning from around mid-year.

Market expectations for Fed rates shifted dramatically in March

Source: StashAway, Bloomberg

The Fed moved quickly and launched an emergency lending programme to provide banks with liquidity and shore up confidence in the financial system. That allowed it to press on with another 25 basis point (bp) rate hike this month, making it clear that fighting inflation was its top priority.

But the Fed and markets aren’t seeing eye to eye on the path of interest rates

At its March meeting, the Fed sent two important signals about the trajectory of rates:

  • First, it held its projection for its terminal rate at 5.1%. With the fed funds rate currently at a range of 4.75% to 5%, this implies just one more rate hike in this cycle. That may be partly because the impact of recent banking turmoil could help slow the economy – effectively doing part of the Fed’s work for it. Some analysts estimate that the resulting tightening in financial conditions could be equivalent to about 25-50 bps of rate hikes.
  • Second, given that inflation remains well above its 2% target, Fed Chair Jerome Powell pushed backon the prospect of any rate cuts this year – and reiterated that the central bank could raise rates by more than expected if needed.

Markets, however, aren’t buying it. Instead, a number of market measures indicate that they’re expecting rate cuts in the near term:

  • Fed funds futures are pricing in rate cuts beginning in June, with an implied rate of about 4.3% by December.
  • Yields on 10-year Treasuries have tumbled to about 3.5% as of end-March from more than 4% at the start of the month, reflecting expectations of slowing growth and moderating inflation.
  • The “near-term forward spread,” which looks at the difference between the yields of current three-month Treasury bills and their expected yields in 18 months, is an indicator that Powell himself watches closely.100 basis point decline in yields over that period.

Under what circumstances would the Fed cut rates?

The Fed’s March hike made it clear that the central bank still sees taming inflation as its highest priority, and inflation is still more than double the Fed’s target.

So, are markets getting ahead of themselves in pricing in rate cuts as soon as mid-year? What would actually prompt the Fed to start cutting rates?

The Fed could cut rates if the economy deteriorates rapidly 

A significant pullback in the economy in the coming months could prompt the Fed to start cutting rates. One way this could happen is that the turmoil in the banking sector could result in even stricter lending standards that would make it even harder for borrowers to access credit, dragging further on growth.

In fact, getting access to loans has already been getting more difficult over the past few quarters. The Fed’s January survey of senior loan officers, for example, showed that about 45% of respondents have tightened lending standards for businesses of all sizes – a trend consistent with past recessions. Banks are also becoming increasingly less inclined to extend credit to consumers.

A recession appears to be in the realm of possibilities for the Fed. The central bank forecasts still-positive – albeit modest – growth of 0.4% this year, down from its December forecast of 0.5%. Given expectations of relatively robust growth in Q1, this would imply a relatively swift slowdown in the coming quarters, potentially in the second half of the year.

Market indicators also point to a heightened probability of a recession in the period ahead. The Federal Reserve Bank of New York’s gauge, for example, points to a 55% probability of a recession in the coming 12 months, while a Bloomberg survey places odds at 65% over that same period.

But dissenting opinions show that recession is not necessarily a foregone conclusion: Goldman Sachs, for example, sees just 35% odds on resilience in the labour market.

Market expectations for Fed rates shifted dramatically in March

Source: StashAway, Federal Reserve Bank of New York, National Bureau of Economic Research; Note: shaded bars indicate recessions as defined by the NBER.

As the economy slows, inflation should naturally come down with it – that’s been the Fed’s objective all along. But barring a significant shock, a sharp decline in inflation is unlikely to happen in the next few months. And with its job not done, the Fed would likely be reluctant to start easing so soon, as that could lead to worse problems down the line.

The central bank could also cut rates if banking sector turmoil intensifies into a more severe crisis

While the Fed and US government have implemented backstops for the banking sector, the situation is still unfolding. The impact of the Fed’s rapid 475 bps of rate hikes since last March could also start to show up in other places in the economy. The worst case scenario will be hard to predict, but any signs of a systemic crisis would likely result in swift action from the Fed.

If the Fed were to cut rates, how would asset classes respond?

Given all the moving parts, it’s too early to say what the Fed will do. And, as we’ve now seen clearly over the past month, market expectations can turn on a dime.

To better prepare ourselves for what’s to come, we can look to history to see how various asset classes have responded to past rate cuts.

Our analysis of 21 Fed easing cycles since the 1970s shows that, in the immediate aftermath of the first rate cut (or 1 month after), median returns across all major asset classes have historically been flat to slightly negative.

After March’s market madness, what’s next for the Fed

Source: StashAway; Note: Stocks reflect the S&P 500, bonds reflect US 10-year Treasuries, commodities reflect the S&P GSCI Index

But as the chart above shows, over time, asset classes have bounced back, with bonds leading the recovery and equities following. (We touched upon this dynamic last year in our CIO Insights: “How the Fed’s Balancing Act Could Play Out”) The key takeaway? It’s important to keep a longer-term perspective and stay invested in a diversified portfolio through the markets’ ups and downs.

Looking for a cushion from market volatility?

StashAway’s General Investing portfolios are already positioned defensively for the current environment. Their December reoptimisation increased exposure to short-duration US Treasuries and maintained their allocation to Gold, which are now benefiting from investors’ flight to safe haven assets.

If you’re looking to add targeted exposure to ultra-defensive assets, you can invest in US Treasuries with 1 to 3 months remaining to maturity through our Flexible Portfolios.


Share this
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.