24. 11. 2023 每週經濟簡報:股票 vs 債券的投資選擇題

24 November 2023

最近,債券的吸引力似乎有所提高。以往由於債券收益率被超低利率拖累,導致追求回報的投資者紛紛放棄投資固定收益資產;但自 2021 年底以來,隨著各國央行持續抗通脹,並收緊貨幣政策,打破了舊有的遊戲規則。

這是投資債券的良機嗎?

回答前,先看看近期的債券收益率 — 以 10 年期美國國債為例,收益率約為4.5%,而短期的英國債券收益率略高,約有 4.6%。可見即使是最低風險的國債,也能提供可觀回報,甚至比許多企業債券還要高。

圖 1:10 年期美國國債收益率一直攀升至 5% 水平(資料來源:美聯儲)

至於股票表現,英國 FTSE 100 藍籌股指數的平均收益率則約為 4%,相比之下,債券收益率無疑極具吸引力!(關於 “收益率” 下文 “行業術語” 將詳述)

問題來了 — 著重收益回報的投資者是否應放棄股票而轉投債券呢?未必。雖然債券的收益率現時高於股票,但股票歷來較債券更勝一籌,原因是股票提供股息以及具有更好的資本增長前景。

而債券收益率會適時變化,但提供的現金價值(票面利率)卻會維持不變,也是債券被稱為固定收益投資的原因。

這方面,股票就較為遜色,原因是股息並非必然 — 企業會按年決定要否派息,根據業績釐定將向股東派發多少股息;當然有不少企業的目標是盡可能定期增加股息。

所以,對具備長線投資思維且考慮到通脹的投資者來說,股票可能仍是投資組合規劃中重要的組成部分。

當中的投資啟示是什麼?

對短期收益而言,債券目前提供回報非常高,甚至是多年來首次超越股票;但若考慮中長期前景,股票仍具更好的增長潛力,有助保障你的資金,避免投資組合價值被通脹蠶食。

許多投資者想繼續同時持有股票及債券,維持投資組合的多元化性以降低風險,且同時有機會於兩種資產類別中獲利。如你希望創建跨資產類別的多元投資組合,不妨試試我們的風險自選投資組合

📰 市場另一面:美國財報季以優於預期的表現進入尾聲

財報季即將告一段落,情況看起來並不錯 — 有 82% 的 S&P 500 表現優於預期,這些企業於連續三個季度下滑後重回增長。早前部份分析師曾預期企業盈利下滑,現時的表現實在令人喜出望外。

仔細分析,不難發現個別企業巨頭確實於今次財報季中 “擔當重要角色”,例如 Meta(通信服務業)及亞馬遜(消費者必須品業);但即使把這兩家公司排除在外,相關行業的增長率仍然非常可觀,分別達 29% 及 23%。

圖 2:S&P500 中的企業於過去一季中表現出乎意料地出色。

對於投資者及企業而言,今年一直是令人擔憂的一年,經濟衰退似乎已經迫在眉睫。不過自市場預期經濟將出現困境,企業往往會精簡營運,適當削減成本,為即將到來的風暴做好準備。

待風暴過去,收入便開始於更低的成本基礎上增長。如果之前削減的費用屬於固定成本,那將這些費用削減後將成為永久的成本節約,從而為企業帶來更大的盈利。

我們不妨想多一步:企業今年實現的利潤增長或會延續到明年,甚至更久。這將對長遠的經濟增長非常有利。

本文章與 Finimize 聯合撰寫。

🎓 行業術語:收益率

如透過銀行的儲蓄戶口賺取利息一樣,收益率指你從任何投資中的所得收益,並以百分比表示。如購買債券,收益率則取決於所付的票面利率,並除以當前價格;對於股票而言,通常指企業的所付股息。因此,如股票價格為 $100 美元,並按年支付 $3 美元股息,其股息收益率將為 3%。但如投資房地產並出租的話,租金收入就是你的收益。

🗓️ StashAway 活動

我們的投資總監 Stephanie Leung 將在全球其中一個最大型的投資者峰會  ─ Finimize 的Modern Investor Summit 上分享如何有效進行風險管理和找到適當風險回報平衡的實用貼士。

同場你還可以聽到全球最大對沖基金橋水的創辦人 Ray Dalio 和摩根大通的首席執行官 Jamie Dimon 等的演講。


分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

Weekly Buzz: How to decide between stocks and bonds

24 November 2023

Bonds are back. For years, income-seeking investors avoided the fixed income sector, with super-low interest rates keeping bond yields depressed. But tighter monetary policy since the end of 2021 – as central banks continue to battle inflation – has changed the game.

A question of yields

Even the most secure bonds now offer decent levels of income. The yield on 10-year US Treasuries now hover around the 4.5% level, and on short-dated UK gilts, yields are slightly higher at 4.6%. Many corporate bonds, issued by companies, offer significantly more.

Compared to equities, this level of income looks very attractive. The average stock in the UK’s FTSE 100 index of blue-chip shares offers a yield of around 4% (we break down yields in our Jargon Buster below).

So, should investors prioritising income now favour bonds instead of stocks? Well, there isn’t a straightforward answer. While bonds generally offer higher yields than shares, shares have historically provided increasing dividends and better capital growth prospects than bonds.

While yields on bonds vary over time, the cash value they pay – the coupon – does not. This is why bonds are known as fixed income investments.

Dividend payments on equities, by contrast, are not fixed – companies pay out what they feel they can afford to shareholders, depending on their performance in a given year. Many companies aim to increase dividends as regularly as possible.

For those with a longer-term horizon, and with inflation in mind, shares will likely remain an essential part of portfolio planning.

What’s the takeaway here?

For immediate income, bonds are now offering superior payouts to shares for the first time in many years. But looking at the medium or longer term, equities still offer better prospects for growth, which can protect the value of your income from inflation.

In practice, many investors will want to continue to own both equities and bonds, with a balanced portfolio offering risk mitigation and the potential to benefit from both investment classes. If you’re looking to invest in a balanced portfolio that diversifies across asset classes, you might want to consider our General Investing portfolios.

📰 In Other News

US earnings season is wrapping up – and it’s better than expected

Earnings season is almost done, and things don’t look too shabby. 82% of S&P 500 companies beat expectations, and it marks the first quarter of positive earnings growth after three quarters of declines. Pretty remarkable considering how some were predicting an earnings slump.

When you unpack the details of these results, you’ll see that a few mega-firms are really pulling their weight, like with Meta (communication services) and Amazon (consumer discretionary). But even if you took those two out of the equation, growth rates for those sectors would still be sitting pretty at 29% and 23%, respectively.

It’s been a worrying year for investors and businesses alike, with a recession that’s seemingly on the horizon. But when there’s trouble forecasted, companies tend to streamline, and cut costs where they can – battening down the hatches before a coming storm.

Later, after the storm passes, revenues start to roll in on a lower cost base. And if the expenses that were slashed earlier had been fixed costs, then those would become permanent cost savings, resulting in greater profits for businesses.

So think about it: the margin improvements that firms delivered this year will likely hang around into next year, and the year after that. That’s a very good thing for future growth.

This article was written in collaboration with Finimize.

🎓 Jargon Buster: Yield

Just as you earn an interest rate on your savings account, yield is the income you earn from any form of investment, expressed as a percentage. If you purchase bonds, yield depends on the coupons paid, divided by its current price. For stocks, it often refers to the dividends that companies pay out. So, if a stock is priced at $100 and pays a $3 dividend per year, the dividend yield is 3%. And when it comes to real estate, think of rental income.

🗓️ Save the Date

Join us virtually at one of the world's largest investor summits! 🌐 Our Chief Investment Officer, Stephanie Leung, will take the stage at Finimize's Modern Investor Summit to share practical tips on risk management and finding the right risk-reward balance.

And that's not all - you'll also get to hear from keynote speakers like Ray Dalio and JPMorgan’s Jamie Dimon. 


Share this
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.