12 月 CIO 投資思維:2024上半年市場前瞻(上)

20 December 2023
Stephanie Leung
集團投資總監

10 分鐘閱讀

今天我們與你分享 2024 年市場前瞻的第 1 部分,也是我們對來年經濟增長及通脹的宏觀見解。 我們將於 1 月仔細分析特定主題及資產類別。於此之前,我們衷心祝你聖誕及新年快樂,並感謝你對 StashAway 的信任,期待於 2024 年繼續與你於投資旅途上並肩前行。

StashAway 投資總監

Stephanie Leung

2024 上半年市場前瞻 剖析宏觀局勢

2023 年即將結束,市場年初預期的 “美國經濟衰退” 始終沒有出現;截至 12 月中旬,由經濟反彈所帶動的全球股市回報率接近 19%(S&P 500 回報率為 23%)。

現時,市場已有共識,預期全球經濟將從衰退轉向 “軟著陸” — 即各國央行將能控制通脹、經濟將增長惟不溫不冷、“金髮女孩效應”(Goldilocks principle)也將發揮得恰到好處。

隨著 2024 年到來,我們認為應著眼於 “金髮女孩效應” 會否如期實現?答案:有機會但 “軟著陸” 前景依然狹窄。

全球經濟增長逐漸放緩

想知 “金髮女孩效應” 的確實答案,讓我們先回顧 2023 年的經濟。加息對美國經濟的影響力比預期低,而疫情後的美國勞動力也強於預期,使年底的 GDP 增長預期回到了 2022 年初水平。

圖 1:2023 年經濟增長預期已調整(資料來源: Bloomberg;StashAway)

我們認為隨著高利息的影響,美國經濟增長最終會於 2024 年出現更大幅度的放緩,惟應因就業市場表現,放緩將以漸進的方式展現。

頑固通脹可能將持續

我們認為通脹前景對市場將有很大的影響。就此情況,美聯儲致力實現的通脹目標(2%)將面對不少挑戰,尤其是來自勞動市場及油價的供應壓力,成為抗通脹的主要上行風險(下文將闡述更多完整分析)。

原因是 “供需型通脹” 往往更為頑固,有機會使經濟繼續處於滯脹環境,鑒於此風險或將於未來繼續維持一段時間,所以投資者應繼續保持謹慎。

對投資者而言,這意味著什麼?

就資產類別而言,我們仍未擺脫滯脹環境,因此我們的智能投資系統 ERAA® 繼續持有短期債券(如美國國債)及防禦性資產(如黃金)。

一旦通脹形勢變得明朗,而經濟數據釋出更明顯的衰退訊號(或相反出現最好的局面:經濟轉 “好景” 並成功 “軟著陸”),這樣 ERAA® 將會提高所持固定收益資產的期限。

至於股市目前似乎已按 “軟著陸” 的完美情境定價,並密切反映債券市場的回報,這情況反映來年的投資定位需更為謹慎。然而,從長遠來看,我們在選定的結構性主題看見更多潛在機會(詳情請留意我們於來年 1 月刊登的 2024 市場前瞻第二部分)。

StashAway ERAA® 對 “軟著陸” 可能性之分析

常言美國經濟 “軟著陸” 罕見,現在透過 StashAway  ERAA® (基於經濟週期擴張及收縮而運行分析的投資框架)角度分析:

ERAA® 自 2022 年 12 月起便持續反映經濟環境處於滯脹之中,即增長停滯且通脹維持高企。如美國經濟實現 “軟著陸” 的話,經濟環境需於完全跳過衰退下,迅速從滯脹跳到好景。

圖 2 :想經濟 “軟著陸” 成功,需視乎宏觀經濟條件是否恰到好處(資料來源:StashAway)

而投資者則專注於經濟增長及通脹之間的循環(與 ERAA® 分析的一致),這尤其體現於資產類別的表現上 — 即當投資者擔心增長時,股市便會受到影響,相反當擔心通脹時,便變為債券受影響。

以疫情期間為例,由於投資者擔心全球經濟(以及自己)的健康狀況,當時股市暴跌而債券上漲。

不過,即使明年經濟確實陷入衰退,從投資角度來看,也不一定是壞事;因為美聯儲過去 1 年間的加息行動已為 “必要時減息” 做好準備,這將支撐股票及債券價格。

所以,對投資者而言,滯脹環境才是更棘手的問題,原因是需要同時擔心增長及通脹,這也是為何於 2024 年市場面臨的最大風險不是經濟陷入衰退,而是持續滯脹。

以下,我們將更深入探討使經濟陷入滯脹的原因,你也可直接跳到我們就回報的分析。

頑固通脹有機會使著陸前景更坎坷

分析持續性的 “供需型通脹” 是了解經濟著陸前景的關鍵,因為這價格壓力基本上於經濟系統中長存,也表示即使經濟增長進一步放緩,也無法降低通脹。

事實上,經濟數據也反映投資者應保持謹慎。舊金山聯邦儲備銀行(San Francisco Fed)的一項研究顯示,就近幾個月的通貨緊縮情況,大部分因市場需求放緩造成(見下圖 - 海軍藍條),同時供應方通脹(見下圖 - 淺藍條)一直未有放緩。

圖 3 :需視乎宏觀經濟條件是否恰到好處(資料來源:舊金山聯邦儲備銀行;StashAway;註:PCE 指 “個人消費支出”,用於衡量通脹)

而我們認為有 2 個主要因素帶動頑固的 “供需型通脹”:

  1. 美國勞動力市場強勁,惟疫情後勞動力出現結構性短缺(更多詳情瀏覽:2023 下半年市場展望 將有更深入分析)。
  2. 全球石油供應持續緊張。自 2021 年起 OPEC 減產及美國石油儲備大幅減少,原油價格獲得較好的支撐,並維持於 70-90 美元區間;相比之下,2010 年代末的油價為 40-70 美元,而當時全球則面臨石油過剩的問題。

就石油而言,地緣政治因素或會使情況更加複雜。從歷史上看,大多數地區衝突(如現時東歐及中東衝突)只會導致油價出現短期的價格波動。

但時至今日,鑑於石油供應已緊張,而核心通脹依然高企,因此任何地緣政治衝突所造成的通脹影響都會被放大,所以任何大宗商品價格一旦受衝擊都有機會使經濟及市場更加動盪。

而上述一切都終使 “金髮姑娘效應” 難以實現。

圖 4:自 2021 年起,原油價格出現新區間(資料來源:Blommberg;StashAway)

回顧 90 年代埋下的未來經濟伏筆

歷史上,任何一場經濟 “軟著陸” 都得來不易。

以 90 年代中期為例,也是美聯儲實現 “軟著陸” 的罕見時期之一。於 1994 - 95 年間,美聯儲逐步將聯邦基金利率從 3% 提高到 6%,隨著經濟降溫,隔年又降至 5.25%;當時 GDP 增長率平均超過 3%,失業率在下降而通脹穩定。

圖 5:回顧過去數十年,唯一成功 “軟著陸” 發生於 90 年代中期(資料來源:StashAway;數據摘自 Journal of Economic Perspective(2023 年冬)《Langing, Soft and Hard: The Federal Reserve, 1965-2022》撰文:Alan Blinder)

不過,在 90 年代,經濟環境處於擴張階段,並表現穩定,並無出現重大的價格衝擊(如 1970 - 1980 年的石油價格飆升事件)。此外,於  1990 年代末,技術創新使美國生產力大幅提升,成功維持經濟成長,同時又不會加劇通脹壓力。

維持長遠的視角方可描繪更清晰的回報藍圖

那麼,面對上述所有不確定性時又應否撤離市場?我們認為著眼點是:放眼大局以長線投資思維提高回報的確定性。

當你以長遠角度觀望市場,便不難理解股債的長期表現,原因於更長遠的時間而言,其表現始終由基本面驅動,而非經濟數據或市場情緒的短期波幅:

  • 美國股市:如二戰結束以來,其年化總回報率約為 10-11%。 雖然受宏觀經濟週期的影響存在短期波動,但這種回報增長最終由美國經濟基本面所支撐。

特別是,該時期的年化現價 GDP(Nominal GDP)增長約有 6%,支撐起現價利潤增長(Nominal Profit Growth)的 5-6%,加上 2-3% 的股票回購及 1-2% 的股息分配,很容易推算得到約 10% 的總回報率。

  • 固定收益:雖然過去 2 年對債券而言充滿挑戰,但不至於絕望,因為該資產類別出現重大回調。

過去幾個月,債券收益率大幅波動,現時長期殖利率已接近 4-5% 公平值範圍,而根據 2% 長期通膨率(中性實際利率),我們估算利率為 0- 0.5%,期限溢價為 2.5-3%(更多詳情瀏覽:11 月 CIO 投資思維:如何駕馭債券市場的波動)。

圖 6:長遠而言,美國企業盈利增長與 GDP 增長跑齊(資料來源:StashAway;US Bureau of Economic Analysis;數據反映季節性調整金額及年化回報金額;盈利包括庫存估值及資金開支調整)

維持投資一個理由就足夠

自新冠疫情爆發以來,宏觀不確定性仍然很高,並可能會於新一年繼續。除此,還有 40 個國家將於 2024 年舉行大選,包括美國、俄羅斯、印度及台灣,特別是 11 月美國總統大選將對全球經濟及地緣政治產生長遠影響,任何波動都足以引發短期波動。

無論怎樣,現時長遠的投資前景非常清楚:於經濟週期的跌宕中繼續投資於股票及債券,而保持投資組合的高度多元化,並設定匹配的風險水平,而市場的短期波動就只是噪音而已。


分享此文章
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

想掌握更多資訊?

先訂閱就無錯過!即可緊貼我們的資訊分享 — 包括 StashAway 每週經濟簡報、每月 CIO 投資思維及最新活動通訊 — 掌握投資貼士及市場脈搏,即使是投資初哥都可華麗轉身成為理財達人!

2024 H1 Macro Outlook(Part 1)

14 December 2023
Stephanie Leung
Group CIO

10 minute read

Today we share Part 1 of our 2024 Outlook series – our macro view on growth and inflation for the upcoming year. In January, we’ll be taking a closer look at specific themes and asset classes. Until then, we wish you and your loved ones a happy, healthy, and prosperous holiday season. Thank you for your trust in StashAway and we look forward to helping you on your investment journey in the year ahead.

Yours in investing,

Stephanie Leung, Chief Investment Officer

2024 H1 Macro Outlook

We’re nearly at the end of 2023, and the US recession that many market participants had predicted at the start of the year doesn’t appear to have arrived just yet. This economic resilience contributed to a nearly 19% return in global equities (and 23% for the S&P 500) as of mid-December.

Now the market consensus has shifted from expectations of recession to the narrative of a “soft landing” – that “Goldilocks” scenario where policymakers are able to rein in inflation and bring growth to a pace that’s neither too hot nor too cold, but just right.

So as we head into 2024, the key question is – will this Goldilocks scenario actually materialise? Our view: while possible, the path to a soft landing is narrow.

A gradual slowdown in growth 

To answer the Goldilocks question, let’s first take a look back to 2023. The US economy has been much more durable to the impact of rate hikes than expected, with GDP growth forecasts ending the year back where they started in early 2022. This strength has been largely due to a stronger-than-expected US employment – the result of COVID-related shifts in the labour market.

Our view is that a more substantial slowdown in US growth will eventually pan out in 2024 as high interest rates take their toll. But given these dynamics in the jobs market, it will likely be very gradual.

Inflation may remain sticky

That’s why we believe the outlook for inflation has bigger implications for markets. Here, the path for inflation to return to the US Federal Reserve’s (the Fed) 2% target could be a bumpy one. In particular, we see supply-side pressures from the labour market and oil prices as key upside risks to inflation (read on for our full analysis).

And because supply-side drivers of inflation tend to be more persistent – and could risk keeping us in a stagflationary environment for longer – this suggests that investors should continue to err on the side of caution.

What does that mean for your investments?

On an asset class level, given that we’re still not out of the stagflation regime, our investment framework, ERAA®, continues to place an overweight on shorter-duration bonds, like US Treasury bills, and defensive assets like gold.

Once the coast is clear on inflation and the economic data show a clearer shift toward recession (or in the best-case scenario, a soft landing in  “good times”), that’s when ERAA® can lengthen duration for our fixed income holdings. 

Equities also appear to be pricing the perfect scenario of a soft landing, and have been closely mirroring returns of the bond market – meaning a more cautious stance going into the new year is warranted. Taking a longer-term view however, we see attractive opportunities in selected structural themes (more on that in Part 2 of our 2024 H1 Outlook series in January).

What does ERAA® say about the odds of a soft landing?

One way to understand why soft landings are so rare is to look through the lens of our ERAA® framework, which is based on the typical flow of the economic cycle as it expands and contracts.

Since December 2022, ERAA® has signalled that we’re in stagflation, where growth is stalling and inflation is still high. A soft landing would mean a swift move in the economy from stagflation back into “good times” – skipping over recession completely. For this to happen, that would require a lot of things to go right.

Consistent with our ERAA® framework, investor concerns cycle between growth and inflation, and this manifests itself in how asset classes behave. Put simply, when investors are worried about growth, equities suffer; when they’re worried about inflation, bonds suffer.

Take COVID: as investors were concerned about the health of the global economy (as well as their own health!), equities plunged and bonds rallied.

And even if the economy does fall into a recession next year, we don’t necessarily consider such an outcome to be a bad thing, from an investment perspective. That’s because the rate hikes of the past year or so have left room for the Fed to reduce rates if needed – which would be supportive for both stock and bond prices.

Stagflation, however, is a trickier regime for investors to navigate, as they need to worry about both growth and inflation at the same time. That’s why we argue that the biggest risk for markets in 2024 is not that the economy moves into a recession, but that it stays in stagflation.

Read on for a deeper dive into what could keep the economy in stagflation, or jump over to our perspective on returns.

Sticky inflation could lead to a bumpier landing

Understanding persistent supply-side inflation is key to the path ahead. That’s because this type of price pressure tends to be harder to shake out of the system – meaning that a further slowdown in growth wouldn’t be able to bring down inflation.

Indeed, the data suggest we should remain cautious. A study by the San Francisco Fed shows that most of the disinflation in recent months has been driven by a slowdown in the demand-side (shown by the navy blue bars in the chart below). Meanwhile, supply-side inflation (the light blue bars) has stayed sticky. 

We see two major forces driving this stickiness in supply-side inflation:

  1. A strong US labour market tied to a structural shortfall of workers post-pandemic (see our 2023 H2 outlook for a deeper dive into this topic).
  2. Persistent tightness in global oil supply. Crude oil prices have been relatively well supported in a US$70-90 range since 2021 amid OPEC production cuts and a significant drawdown in US oil reserves. This compares with a $40-70 range in the late 2010s, when the world faced a different problem – an oil glut.

For oil, geopolitics could further complicate the picture. Historically, most regional conflicts – like what’s happening now in Eastern Europe and the Middle East – have only resulted in short-term price fluctuations.

But today the impact of geopolitics on inflation is magnified given that oil supply is already tight and core inflation is still elevated. That means any shocks to commodity prices could result in more turbulence for the economy and markets.

All of this makes that elusive Goldilocks scenario hard to achieve.

Look back to the 1990s for clues on the future

If we take a look back on history, soft landings have been hard to pull off.

Take the mid-1990s, which was one of the rare times when the Fed was able to achieve such an outcome. In 1994-95, the US central bank gradually raised the fed funds rate from 3% to 6%, then lowered it to 5.25% over the following year as the economy cooled. At the same time, GDP growth averaged more than 3%, unemployment actually declined, and inflation was stable.

But the 1990s were also characterised by economic expansion and stability, with no major price shocks (like the oil price spikes of the 1970s-80s, for example). In addition, during the late 1990s the US experienced a major pick-up in productivity that was attributed to technological innovation – which helped sustain economic growth without stoking inflationary pressures.

A longer-term perspective gives a clearer picture on returns

So with all this uncertainty, should investors stay out of the market? Here’s our take: by taking a longer-term view, you can increase the certainty of returns.

When you zoom out, the longer-term returns of equities and bonds become easier to understand. That’s because on a much wider time horizon, they’re driven by fundamentals, and not the latest swings in economic data or market sentiment:

  • US equities, for example, have posted annualised total returns of about 10-11% since the end of World War II. While there have been short-term fluctuations based on the macroeconomic cycle, this growth in returns has ultimately been underpinned by the fundamentals of the US economy.

In particular, annualised nominal GDP growth of about 6% during that period has in turn supported nominal profit growth of 5-6%. Add in share buybacks of 2-3% and dividend distributions of 1-2%, and it’s simple maths to arrive at 10% total returns. 

  • For fixed income, while the past two years have been a painful period for bonds, we do see one silver lining: it’s also been a great reset for the asset class.

Following the big swings in bond yields over the past few months, we believe long-term yields have settled closer to a fair value range of 4-5% – which we estimate based on long-term inflation of 2%, a neutral real interest rate of 0-0.5%, and a term premium of 2.5-3% (for a deeper dive, check out November’s CIO Insights).

The case for staying invested

Since COVID, macro uncertainty has remained high – and will probably continue to be in the new year. On top of this, 40 countries will be headed to the polls in 2024 – including the US, Russia, India, and Taiwan. In particular, the US presidential election in November will have long-term implications on global economics and geopolitics, and any swings here are likely to cause short-term volatility.

Ultimately, as long as you keep a well-diversified portfolio with allocations that are consistent with your personal risk level, short-term volatility in the markets is just noise. The long-term picture is clear: staying invested in stocks and bonds through the ups and downs of economic cycles means greater certainty in returns.


Share this
  • linkedin
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • email

Want more?

We thought you might.Join the hundreds of thousands of people who are taking control of their personal finances and investments with tips and market insights delivered straight to their inboxes.